Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I loved this cake. I subbed sour cream with 2% greek yogurt and also added a sugar glaze. I do not believe the glaze is necessary since this cake is sweet enough on its own. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
1) Add blueberries 2) 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 butter 3) instead of sour cream, use 1 cup yogurt, 1tsp baking soda, and a squirt of lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
The center was fully baked according to my cake tester, but it was wet and gloppy. The tiny corner I tasted was WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was perfect. Very moist and flavorful! I followed it exactly as written! Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I thought this was great! I only made half the recipe (although I made the full amount of crumb topping) My family devoured it! The only change I made was I used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream because that's what I had on hand. I did think it had a little to much of a buttery taste, so next time I'll cut down on the butter, but that didn't ruin it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Made this morning. Really moist. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My husband said, "I don't think I have words for how good this is, other than, I want more!" I made this is muffin pans and it made about 18 muffins. My only changes were adding about 1 cup of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the batter and about 3/4 cup chopped pecans to the crumb filling. The pecans give it a little crunch and the cinnamon chips add just the right amount of mild cinnamon flavor, not too overpowering. These muffins were soft and gooey right out of the oven, like old fashioned butter cake. When cooled they are nicely crunchy on the edges and slightly gooey in the center! This recipe is definitely a keeper! One more thing I made this because I had a big tub of sour cream that was on the verge of too sour. I didn't want to throw it out so I was looking for something to bake with it. The cream didn't taste over sour at all, Great use for almost bad sour cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I thought this was great. I added 1/2 tsp orange extract to the batter, and then added vanilla and orange extract plus some grated orange rind to the topping. Gave it a citrus zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's a great coffee cake! Moist and delicious. I might try a bit less butter next time; I'm not sure that much was necessary, and it might make it a little less dense. But it's really great as is, if you don't mind all those fat calories! :-) I might also add just a bit more salt next time. Perhaps a 1/2 tsp instead of 1/8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desireecraig
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my go-to coffee cake recipe. Though I add chocolate chips! Takes it right over the top! So delicious and moist! I found that the cake was very dense and heavy in the centre, no matter how I amended the review or how long I baked it for. So now I make it as muffins! Some crumble on the bottom, in the middle along with some chocolate chips and on top too! They come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States