Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
My husband said, "I don't think I have words for how good this is, other than, I want more!" I made this is muffin pans and it made about 18 muffins. My only changes were adding about 1 cup of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the batter and about 3/4 cup chopped pecans to the crumb filling. The pecans give it a little crunch and the cinnamon chips add just the right amount of mild cinnamon flavor, not too overpowering. These muffins were soft and gooey right out of the oven, like old fashioned butter cake. When cooled they are nicely crunchy on the edges and slightly gooey in the center! This recipe is definitely a keeper! One more thing I made this because I had a big tub of sour cream that was on the verge of too sour. I didn't want to throw it out so I was looking for something to bake with it. The cream didn't taste over sour at all, Great use for almost bad sour cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I thought this was great. I added 1/2 tsp orange extract to the batter, and then added vanilla and orange extract plus some grated orange rind to the topping. Gave it a citrus zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's a great coffee cake! Moist and delicious. I might try a bit less butter next time; I'm not sure that much was necessary, and it might make it a little less dense. But it's really great as is, if you don't mind all those fat calories! :-) I might also add just a bit more salt next time. Perhaps a 1/2 tsp instead of 1/8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desireecraig
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my go-to coffee cake recipe. Though I add chocolate chips! Takes it right over the top! So delicious and moist! I found that the cake was very dense and heavy in the centre, no matter how I amended the review or how long I baked it for. So now I make it as muffins! Some crumble on the bottom, in the middle along with some chocolate chips and on top too! They come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was easy and deeeelicious! Calls for 9x13, I used 8x8 and 6 muffin pan. I added quartered fresh cranberries to cake, and shredded coconut to filling. Very elegant dessert - they'll think you SLAVED over it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I've made this cake several times. Every time, I bring it to work and it's gone within minutes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is the best coffee cake I've ever had! Moist, delicious and easy to make. I double the filling for extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I used 3/4 cup of olive oil instead of the butter and used 1.5cups of sugar instead of the quantity stated here. I figured that the filling provided the necessary sugary balance. Oil was also used in the filling. I baked it in a bunt cake pan for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. The cake turned out awesome and it was a huge success. Will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
We absolutely loved the taste of this cake. I wouldn't just wait for breakfast...have it for an afternoon snack! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think the filling should be doubled so that it will taste just like a Drakes Coffee Cake (except it doesn't fall apart when you eat it)!!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
My husband and I can't get enough of this coffee cake. I cook mine in a bundt pan and double the topping. This is definitely a keeper, thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States