Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I thought this was great. I added 1/2 tsp orange extract to the batter, and then added vanilla and orange extract plus some grated orange rind to the topping. Gave it a citrus zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
It's a great coffee cake! Moist and delicious. I might try a bit less butter next time; I'm not sure that much was necessary, and it might make it a little less dense. But it's really great as is, if you don't mind all those fat calories! :-) I might also add just a bit more salt next time. Perhaps a 1/2 tsp instead of 1/8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by desireecraig
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is my go-to coffee cake recipe. Though I add chocolate chips! Takes it right over the top! So delicious and moist! I found that the cake was very dense and heavy in the centre, no matter how I amended the review or how long I baked it for. So now I make it as muffins! Some crumble on the bottom, in the middle along with some chocolate chips and on top too! They come out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was easy and deeeelicious! Calls for 9x13, I used 8x8 and 6 muffin pan. I added quartered fresh cranberries to cake, and shredded coconut to filling. Very elegant dessert - they'll think you SLAVED over it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I've made this cake several times. Every time, I bring it to work and it's gone within minutes. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This is the best coffee cake I've ever had! Moist, delicious and easy to make. I double the filling for extra cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I used 3/4 cup of olive oil instead of the butter and used 1.5cups of sugar instead of the quantity stated here. I figured that the filling provided the necessary sugary balance. Oil was also used in the filling. I baked it in a bunt cake pan for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. The cake turned out awesome and it was a huge success. Will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
We absolutely loved the taste of this cake. I wouldn't just wait for breakfast...have it for an afternoon snack! The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think the filling should be doubled so that it will taste just like a Drakes Coffee Cake (except it doesn't fall apart when you eat it)!!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
My husband and I can't get enough of this coffee cake. I cook mine in a bundt pan and double the topping. This is definitely a keeper, thanks Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn DiMarco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Made many, many times with this slight alteration: cut the white sugar in half. You don't need it. Then double the topping recipe and add a little powdered cardamon to it. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States