Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I made it as written and the center collapsed. My guests were already here, I was embarrassed to death!!!! Where is the baking soda this should have????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My whole family absolutely loved it! Will certainly make it again.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but boy does it dry out quickly. When first out of the oven it was the best coffee cake I had ever tasted next to my Mom's (of Finnish decent) but the next day it was so dry we weren't happy at all even tho it was put into an air tight container overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent! Exactly what I was hoping for. Tried as muffins (for ease of co-workers to eat)...stick with the cake pan. Tastes even better the next day. Super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I absolutely loved it! It is so moist! I did double the filling/topping. I will definitely keep this is my recipe box and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEMaMma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Yummy! My family devoured it! I doubled the crumb because it is the best part. I'm sure it would have been scrumptious with a whole cup of butter but I only had 1/2 on hand so I just threw in some extra sour cream. It was super moist!!! I could taste the baking powder a bit, but that may have been the price of omitting some butter. I wonder if I could sub yogurt for the sour cream? Thanks for a cravable coffee cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
super easy to make and good. The only revisions to the recipe I made was to add an extra tsp of baking soda like other reviews suggested. I used a 9x12 glass pyrex pan. It looks like it will not be enough batter but will fluff up nicely when baked. I think I will try to substitue with yogurt next time instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe is delicious! The sour cream makes the cake very moist. Next time I bake it, I may try doubling the filling part of the recipe to allow more crunch/flavor in the middle and on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I have made this cake twice now. The first time I used half margarine, half butter & half splenda, half white sugar, baked it in a 9" springform for 45 mintues. that was WAY too long, came out burnt! So the second time I used all butter and all splenda, added a shredded apple to the center as another reviewer suggested and baked in the same 9" springform this time for 28 minutes and it was perfect! It's a very moist and simple cake. I found the batter was a bit challenging to work with and spread in the pan but if you don't mind getting your hands full of batter then it's perfect!!! Will definitely keep making! Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Family favorite. I made the mistake of using all the struesel on middle layer the first time I made it so I had to make another 1/2 batch for the topping. Now, I always make extra!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States