Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This cake turned out to be a disaster, way to much butter & sugar. The right amount for this recipe is 1/2 c. butter and 1 c. sugar. When I made this cake I baked it for 1.5 hrs. and it was still raw around the edges and in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made it as is, except I screwed up and used baking soda instead of baking powder. It made the cake rise more, but it was still delicious! I think I will make it this way from now on! It did take longer than the 35-40 minutes. After 35 minutes, I increased the oven temp to 375 degrees, put tin foil over the top, and baked an additional 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very moist. Like the sour cream flavor but it was a bit too sweet for our tastes. Next time I will try decreasing white sugar and will add some nuts in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Taste is great...but a 4 star because I think I slighty undercooked this cake. A little dense and "doughy" in the middle....The outside was cooked....just the middle. I did double the cinnamon/sugar/nut/butter mixture so there was pleanty in the middle and on top. Delicious flavor here....just an error on my part. I also made in a 10' springform.... I will try this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My husband and friends loved this moist and cakey treat! I added about 1/2 cup more brown sugar topping mixture because my husband likes it sweet. It was everything I could do just to get him to share! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I am sorry to give this recipe such a low rating. But it just needs a lot of work. It lacked in flavor and the 'moist' aspect of it tasted more underdone even though it wasn't (it was lightly browned on the top and the toothpick was clean). I have a stove that is less than a year old, so it wasn't my stove either. I am on the hunt for the recipe I used as a teenager. I am going to try Betty Crocker next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Culver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Excellent! I used Leben (Arabic yogurt) instead of sour cream, and it was to die for. Works well as muffins too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Turbodonkey
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Made it exactly as described and it was WONDERFUL! Check my pictures. Next time I will make double the topping. I put some in the middle as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is my first review ever, but I couldn't let this one pass. I had never made a crumb cake before and I absolutely LOVED this one! It was so incredibly moist, it's ridiculous. I substituted the sour cream for plain low fat yogurt to reduce the amount of fat. The only thing I had trouble with was the topping, which sank to the bottom of my pan. I read somewhere else that if you let the cake bake for 30 min and then add the crumb topping, it will prevent this from happening, so I'm definitely doing that next time. Thanks for the recipe! My husband can't get enough of this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
batter was as stiff as cookie dough. Needed a rolling pin to roll it out in the reccomdended pan. (my mother who also made this had the same issue). So I had to add some milk to make more the consistency of cake batter. It came out alright. I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States