Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and used the 9 x 13 pan. I thought I would never get the batter to spread evenly in the pan, but finally it did after the batter softened up a bit. I think if I make this again I will cut the sugar in the batter to 1 1/2 cups . It is very moist but it is awfully sweet. Too sweet even with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great recipe. So easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Villa Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I love this recipe so much, every time I make this it's gone within a day. I usually double the filling but other than that I follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Delicious. The cake is very moist and the topping gives it some crunchiness. I took the advice of some others and doubled the topping and added about 3/4 cup chopped pecans to the mixture. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This cake turned out to be a disaster, way to much butter & sugar. The right amount for this recipe is 1/2 c. butter and 1 c. sugar. When I made this cake I baked it for 1.5 hrs. and it was still raw around the edges and in the middle of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Made it as is, except I screwed up and used baking soda instead of baking powder. It made the cake rise more, but it was still delicious! I think I will make it this way from now on! It did take longer than the 35-40 minutes. After 35 minutes, I increased the oven temp to 375 degrees, put tin foil over the top, and baked an additional 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Very moist. Like the sour cream flavor but it was a bit too sweet for our tastes. Next time I will try decreasing white sugar and will add some nuts in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Taste is great...but a 4 star because I think I slighty undercooked this cake. A little dense and "doughy" in the middle....The outside was cooked....just the middle. I did double the cinnamon/sugar/nut/butter mixture so there was pleanty in the middle and on top. Delicious flavor here....just an error on my part. I also made in a 10' springform.... I will try this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
My husband and friends loved this moist and cakey treat! I added about 1/2 cup more brown sugar topping mixture because my husband likes it sweet. It was everything I could do just to get him to share! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turtleheart82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I am sorry to give this recipe such a low rating. But it just needs a lot of work. It lacked in flavor and the 'moist' aspect of it tasted more underdone even though it wasn't (it was lightly browned on the top and the toothpick was clean). I have a stove that is less than a year old, so it wasn't my stove either. I am on the hunt for the recipe I used as a teenager. I am going to try Betty Crocker next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States