Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I made this recipe exactly according to the recipe. I took it to a playdate, and all the mommies loved it! Now I have been asked for the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe! I used a bunt cake pan and mistakenly used self rising flour but it still turned out GREAT! The cake was super moist and the sour cream gave it a nice tang to compliment the sweet. I will definitely be making this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this coffee cake! Had a whole group over for Christmas and it was eaten completely! Doubled the topping and that worked well. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Followed directions exactly. Was a little concerned about fitting the batter in a 9 x 13 pan, but it worked. Directions say cook for 35-40 minutes: I had to leave mine in an extra 20 minutes in a conventional oven to cook properly. Cake rose nicely. Many reviews suggest doubling filling/topping. I think doubling would have been too much. I could have used a little more for the topping: I wasn't able to cover the cake completely. My husband and I both are happy with the outcome. Good coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Well, it needed much longer of a cook time. I baked it for 35 minutes and it seemed really undercooked. I then added an additional 15 minutes. I allowed the cake to cool, and then cut into it and it still seemed half raw :(. I was really disappointed about this, since I was making it for company. I had to put it back into the oven for 15 more minutes at 400 degrees while our company was waiting. Very embarrassing. I took it out and let it cool for 15 mins. Still, it seems very undercooked, especially in the centre. I put it back in the oven with tin foil over top at 200 degrees for 20 more minutes. The whole experience was just an ordeal. I'll try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyd2012
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I left the batter exactly the same but I just increased the topping mixture and baked it a little longer! And I used a 9" springform pan. DIVINE!! This one will not last long in this house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Extremely moist and flavorful. A bit on the rich side, but for a special breakfast with eggs, bacon and all that good stuff we save for special occasions, this was perfect. Happy family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This was too moist for my liking of coffee cakes. It was also very sweet. I added a few chopped walnuts, to the filling. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Changed my rating from 3 stars to 5 because the next day it was much better. My family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good recipe! I doubled the filling, and added chopped apples, i used a spring form pan, and I end up cooking it for an hr covered in aluminum then 30 mins without...I cook it that long because it always looks wiggly in the middle. Its a very thick and moist cake, I get raves every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
For us just too much butter because using 3/4 of a cup produces an exceptionally moist cake (or bread). Also, some complaints about it not rising and the answer for me was to add 1/2 tsp. baking soda which is normal when using sour cream or buttermilk. Other than the above (and of course to our tastes) it is a good reliable coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States