Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This was delicious, and melted in my mouth - was a crowd-pleaser for overnight guests as well. Even tasted great a few days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
It seems like it's a keeper :). Family is enjoying the cake right now. It is good, though I think it'd be better made in a bit of a smaller pan than a 9x13. I mean, it's moist but it was hard to spread in the pan, and even harder to spread the 2nd layer of cake on top of the cinnamon mix. Over all though, it's good and helped me use up some sour cream :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Soooo moist!!! I followed all the directions exactly! I just cut the ingredients in half and placed in a loaf pan! mmm...Def a keeper! Guests loved it too!! :) Love sour cream in loaf breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Leineweber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Most coffee cakes are very dry. But I tried this one cause my husband likes coffee cake. Followed all the direction,but looked at the reviews and doubled the topping. This was really moist and delicious. Since I am not a cake eater I did try a piece of it and was really impressed with the moistness. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing this recipe it is super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I thought it would be moister with the sour cream. It wasn't. Flavor almost non-existent except for the crumble. I even tried adding cinnamon, nutmeg and a touch of cardamom to the batter, still wasn't good enough. Most likely will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Baked this cake for my elderly neighbor so I didnt actually taste it. But she loved it! She said it was one of the best coffee cakes shes had! I made it at is I new I couldnt go wrong with this recipe by the ingredients and measurements! This will be my new go to coffeecake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I thought this tasted fine but the batter was very, very thick making it nearly impossible to spread the second layer. I tried adding a little water to the second half of the batter before spreading it on top of the filling but it still didn't thin it out very much. Though I bake quite regularly, this was my first coffee cake...maybe the batter is supposed to be thick? I'll try it again and do what other reviewers have suggested: one layer with the entire crumb mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made other sour cream cakes but sorry about a bad review on this one. Too much sugar, didnt bake at time suggested. Too crunchy topping....it was hard. Why put flour in a topping? We didnt enjoy this at all. sorry, but thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I made this exactly as written. It was excellent. Other recipes for this type of coffee cake can sometimes be too dry. This had a nice firm texture that was easy to cut and serve, yet was moist and delicious. Must be all that butter and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this as written with one exception - I ran out of vanilla extract so I used the seeds from 1 vanilla bean instead. I thought the cake was slightly to sweet (and I like sweets!) and there was not enough topping. I made it in a 9x9 pan and it came out well, though had to cook it a little longer. My batter was REALLY thick - maybe I beat the butter and sugar together too long/ much or was everyone's that way? The cake part came out with fabulous texture though so other than the challenge of spreading the batter, it was fine. I might make this again but I'll make adjustments to it. I'd say it's about 2/3 of the way to being like Starbuck's traditional coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States