Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is really good. I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream because that's what I had available, and it worked well. It's pretty rich and sweet, so it is a bit much for just a slice for breakfast or something, but it is a perfect pairing with a cup of tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good-- moist, cinnamon-y goodness. I've tried it twice, once in a 9x13 pan, and the second time in a 9x9 pan. Definitely recommend using the 9x13. Also, I didn't think it was necessary to double cinnamon topping; I did that the first time, and I had some left over. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This cake is delicious! I did double the filling like other reviewers suggested and added some chopped walnuts to the filling mixture and it was perfect! So moist and so delicious. For those few comments that said it was doughy or did not rise correctly, I would suggest that you check the expiration date on your baking powder and flour (as well as all other ingredients). Expired baking powder and flour do not bake correctly and will most certainly affect the outcome of any recipe. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Harrison
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
SO DELICIOUS!!!! I added alittle more cinnamon to my filling ... i will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Harrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was a very good coffee cake. I really liked the texture and the tang that the cour cream gave it. However, I did find it a little too sweet, and would cut out some of the brown sugar and butter next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
WOW, So moist! Best I ever had! The only thing I changed is I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 coconut oil because our family likes the health benefits of coconut oil. Also, added a little cinnamon in the batter when mixing. Baked in a bundt pan. No need to add any more topping- it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Followed recipe exactly except pan (put it in a 11x8). A bit too sweet and not enough of a salty contrast. Kids loved it and it did taste yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Made with buttermilk instead of sour cream and was better (less sweet).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Big hit at a coffee play date!!! Shared with friends and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAUREENVANCOUVER
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Moist and delicious! You don't need to change the recipe, unless you want to lessen the sugar, which I did by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States