Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Since so many people change recipes on this website I wanted to try this one with no changes so I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful!! Whole family loved it, I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
One of the best recipes I have used for Coffee Cake. I didn't bother with putting the filling in though. Too difficult as the batter is so thick. It didn't rise very high, so having all the cinnamon sugar on top worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I feel kinda bad rating the recipe since I did drastically change some things and I am certain it effected the outcome. But I wanted to let other cooks know how changing certain things worked for me. On the "Most Helpful Reviews" someone suggested removing 1/2 the butter and subbing 1/4 c extra sour cream (added with the butter). Usually when you sub butter, in my experience you do it cup for cup... so I went in the middle ground and used less than 1/2 c extra sour cream but more than 1/4c. I wasn't sure how that would effect the outcome. My coffee cake baked fine, needed 40 minutes for sure but my oven is a bit low-ish on its heat accuracy. My coffee cake texture is not flaky or dry at all. It was very moist and while not terribly dense, it's relatively heavy almost like a pound cake. I doubled the vanilla and I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger to the batter and used a little less sugar (not even 1/4 c less). Next time I make this I might try another recipe but if I still have extra sour cream in the house I will make this again. If so I will certainly double the cinnamon mixture because it could use a lot more in the middle, in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is really good. I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream because that's what I had available, and it worked well. It's pretty rich and sweet, so it is a bit much for just a slice for breakfast or something, but it is a perfect pairing with a cup of tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good-- moist, cinnamon-y goodness. I've tried it twice, once in a 9x13 pan, and the second time in a 9x9 pan. Definitely recommend using the 9x13. Also, I didn't think it was necessary to double cinnamon topping; I did that the first time, and I had some left over. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This cake is delicious! I did double the filling like other reviewers suggested and added some chopped walnuts to the filling mixture and it was perfect! So moist and so delicious. For those few comments that said it was doughy or did not rise correctly, I would suggest that you check the expiration date on your baking powder and flour (as well as all other ingredients). Expired baking powder and flour do not bake correctly and will most certainly affect the outcome of any recipe. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Harrison
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
SO DELICIOUS!!!! I added alittle more cinnamon to my filling ... i will definatly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Harrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This was a very good coffee cake. I really liked the texture and the tang that the cour cream gave it. However, I did find it a little too sweet, and would cut out some of the brown sugar and butter next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
WOW, So moist! Best I ever had! The only thing I changed is I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 coconut oil because our family likes the health benefits of coconut oil. Also, added a little cinnamon in the batter when mixing. Baked in a bundt pan. No need to add any more topping- it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Followed recipe exactly except pan (put it in a 11x8). A bit too sweet and not enough of a salty contrast. Kids loved it and it did taste yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States