Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe is the least difficult one I've used. I baked them as holiday gifts for family & friends. The first batch I realized I didn't have any sour cream, so I improvised & used nonfat plain yogurt. The substition worked great & the batter was creamy & the cake baked without any problems!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Very, very good! I, too, doubled the topping. Other than that, I followed directions exactly and it was perfect. Got rave reviews from my guests. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I read most of the reviews and also noted that the cake doesn't rise that much. I followed the recipe as instructed by the cook/author.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great taste, but had to bake for longer than the recommended time. Could use more topping as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Delicious. Made this as written and it was a winner. Noot too sweet and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a very dense coffee cake. I added extra cinnamon, doubled the crumb topping (still felt like it needed more) and added a drizzle of frosting. It's tasty but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Since so many people change recipes on this website I wanted to try this one with no changes so I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful!! Whole family loved it, I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
One of the best recipes I have used for Coffee Cake. I didn't bother with putting the filling in though. Too difficult as the batter is so thick. It didn't rise very high, so having all the cinnamon sugar on top worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I feel kinda bad rating the recipe since I did drastically change some things and I am certain it effected the outcome. But I wanted to let other cooks know how changing certain things worked for me. On the "Most Helpful Reviews" someone suggested removing 1/2 the butter and subbing 1/4 c extra sour cream (added with the butter). Usually when you sub butter, in my experience you do it cup for cup... so I went in the middle ground and used less than 1/2 c extra sour cream but more than 1/4c. I wasn't sure how that would effect the outcome. My coffee cake baked fine, needed 40 minutes for sure but my oven is a bit low-ish on its heat accuracy. My coffee cake texture is not flaky or dry at all. It was very moist and while not terribly dense, it's relatively heavy almost like a pound cake. I doubled the vanilla and I added 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger to the batter and used a little less sugar (not even 1/4 c less). Next time I make this I might try another recipe but if I still have extra sour cream in the house I will make this again. If so I will certainly double the cinnamon mixture because it could use a lot more in the middle, in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikolette T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is really good. I had to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream because that's what I had available, and it worked well. It's pretty rich and sweet, so it is a bit much for just a slice for breakfast or something, but it is a perfect pairing with a cup of tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States