Sour Cream Coffee Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This cake was wonderful! It is sweet, but really hits the spot with some coffee. My only suggestion is rewording 'melted butter' for 'softened butter', as melted butter will make the filling the wrong consistency instead of crumbly as it should be. My entire family loved this and I'm going to make another to take to our church Bible study this evening. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by partyof8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made the changes suggested by another rater: 1 tsp vanilla, 1.5 cups brown sugar. It was very good, but still a little too sweet with the glaze on top. The family loved it and asked for another. I also sprinkled sliced almonds between the layers. It was very crumbly and moist just like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I found this coffee cake to be very moist and really good. Just a little sweet for me but my boyfriend loved it! He has more of a sweet tooth than I do. I made the recipe as written and think it is only fair to rate and write a review based on following a recipe to a tee. I will definitely make this again. It was easy too. Thanks Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
5 stars for the moist cake. 2 stars for the crusty, hard topping. Maybe i did something wrong? I used 3/4 cup butter instead of 1 cup, but I will try 1/2 cup next time as a few others have tried. This coffee cake was a bit tricky to bake as it did not bake evenly, leaving the edges a bit hard and the center soft. Spreading 1/2 the filling into the pan then half the topping and then the rest of the filling was very hard to do...the dough was very very thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Everyone at my work absolutely LOVED this!! I was pretty keen on it too. =o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaimee78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is absolutely perfect! Very moist. I added blueberries and it was great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I followed the reviews and used half the butter, and a scant 1/2 c brown sugar and 1/2 c white sugar instead of the 2 c whjite sugar. I also like what someone had suggested to use Hershey's cinnamon chips sprinkled over the bottom layer, and the second time I made it I sprinkled cinnamon chips AND blueberries (1 pint) - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I only had 1/4 cup of sour cream, so I added 3/4 c. of buttermilk to the mix. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. Got rave reviews from my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Recipe is just so-so. Needs at least double the topping... but the Cake Batter is pretty tasty/moist. I will try again with some modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Just exactly what great coffee cake should look like and taste like. Classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States