Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several times in the past two weeks. I do have a few suggestions. First, I don't mix the filling ingredients. I sprinkle the walnuts, then most of the sugar, then most of the cinnamon. I DO measure the sugar--if I were doing it by eye I would never add enough! (I put only the remaining sugar and cinnamon on top). To smooth the first layer of cake on the bottom I make sure to wet my hands. For the second layer of cake I actually take hand-fuls of batter and flatten them in my wet hands before laying them out. It is quite easy to join these pieces together. Don't worry if you don't reach the edges of your baking dish--this cake expands tremendously while baking. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a super excellent recipe that was so moist! Everyone at work loved it! I changed some things to make it work for me: I added 1 tsp vanilla to the creamed mixture, and I increased the sour cream to 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. ginger to the flour mixture. When everything was mixed together, I added about 1 cup of frozen blueberries. I spread this whole thing into a 9x13 greased pan. Instead of having a layer of filling, I omitted that step and made a streusel like topping for the top: Cut together 1/2 stick butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon. Add 1/3 cup quick oats and 1 cup chopped pecans. Mix together well and sprinkle over the top of cake. This baked for exactly 40 minutes and came out beautiful! I thought it was pretty easy to make and I'm glad that I came across this recipe. This is especially delicious with a cup of fresh, hot coffee! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made this cake for a group of friends today and everyone loved it. It is moist and very easy to make. I am glad to add it to my favorite recipes. Patricia Peoples, Rowlett, TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Very delicious. Like other reviewers, I added a full cup of sour cream as well as 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. In addition, I used brown sugar and substitued pecans for walnuts for the filling. It was very moist and baked perfectly in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
What an easy cake to make and a wonderful sweet treat. This cake is moist and delicious. (I did add a full cup of sour cream per the other reviews. That was my only change. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very simple and very good! Batter does not pour but you have to spread it, and spreading it on top of the middle filling is tricky. I wet my hands and patted it out, that seemed to work better. Turned out pretty and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
thank you i used to make this cake year's ago it was a family favorite but i lost the recipie and i've been searching for it for a long time.it taste's just as good as ever,my husband was surprised and delighted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This cake is good, I used a heavy bunt pan and needed to bake an extra 10 minutes. We only used 1 tsp of cinnamon, and didn't add the nuts. My 3 & 6 yr olds can't eat nuts. I am sure it would have been great with the nuts too. The flavor is good, and my family likes it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Much like many other folks I added one cup of sour cream and added a little bit of vanilla. The tip of wetting one's hands and then patting down the second layer of the batter was perfect, the batter is thick which I appreciate but I am not sure how else I would have gotten it to spread evenly without wetting my hands and patting it down. This recipe is super easy and tastes marvelous. The cake is super moist, my family loved it and it was gone before I knew it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This was a very easy recipe, and very good! I even forgot to add the sour cream, which is supposed to make it moister, but it was excellent! Thanks, Irene, for sharing this great recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sparta, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States