Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
This was my first time making any kind of coffee cake, so I have no frame of reference for what it should have been like before it went in the oven. I thought three eggs was a little much but I followed the recipe to a T. Which is why I'm confused as to why it didn't cook all the way through in the 40 minutes suggested in the recipe. I ended up having to leave it in for an extra 20 minutes. It turned out OK, tastes good, and it's really crumbly, though I'm not sure if it's supposed to be. I don't think I'll try this one again. There seem to be a lot of similar recipes to check out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martin J. Clemens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bob Jody Buck
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Delicious. I made a few modifications. Made it half brown sugar half white sugar. For the filling: I had some dark bananas so I put dollops of mashed bananas. On top of that I put a few spoonfuls of strawberry preserves. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Jody Buck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I think the instructions were poorly written. For instance eggs: medium, large, extra large? It makes a difference. Flour: sifted or not. Prepared pan: grease and flour or just grease. When writing a recipe, I think you need to be specific so everyone gets the same results. The organization of the recipe was poor too. I think preparing the topping first would be a good idea, and then a description of the texture of the batter would be good too. I was surprised at how thick the batter was and was wondering if I did something wrong. The cake is in the oven now, and I hope it comes out right, but I will be re- writing it if I decide to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It is dry, dry dry. I will never make it again. Probably creaming the butter and sugar, adding eggs one at a time, etc.,using more sour cream would make a better cake. But not THIS cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
i used the glazed walnuts and chopped them up...really added to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was so moist and delicious! I also added vanilla, 3/4 c sour cream, and used brown sugar for the middle and top mix. I also made a glaze with 1c confection sugar, 2 tbls milk, and vanilla. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen FL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe requires some fiddling. I'd increase the sour cream maybe. As it is, it's hard to spread the top layer over the filling without pretty much stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, California, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
AMAZING! We did a double batch and it is almost gone after the first sitting. The sour cream mellows out the sweetness and makes the cake moist. We will ABSOLUTELY be made again in this household!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Knowles Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
What an easy cake to make and a wonderful sweet treat. This cake is moist and delicious. (I did add a full cup of sour cream per the other reviews. That was my only change. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe!!! I used 1 cup of sour cream, and pecans which I added to the cake, for the filling I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, I also added two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice to the cake and 2 tablespoons of orange juice. Very versatile recipe and easy to prepare!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States