Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I think the instructions were poorly written. For instance eggs: medium, large, extra large? It makes a difference. Flour: sifted or not. Prepared pan: grease and flour or just grease. When writing a recipe, I think you need to be specific so everyone gets the same results. The organization of the recipe was poor too. I think preparing the topping first would be a good idea, and then a description of the texture of the batter would be good too. I was surprised at how thick the batter was and was wondering if I did something wrong. The cake is in the oven now, and I hope it comes out right, but I will be re- writing it if I decide to use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
It is dry, dry dry. I will never make it again. Probably creaming the butter and sugar, adding eggs one at a time, etc.,using more sour cream would make a better cake. But not THIS cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
i used the glazed walnuts and chopped them up...really added to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was so moist and delicious! I also added vanilla, 3/4 c sour cream, and used brown sugar for the middle and top mix. I also made a glaze with 1c confection sugar, 2 tbls milk, and vanilla. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen FL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe requires some fiddling. I'd increase the sour cream maybe. As it is, it's hard to spread the top layer over the filling without pretty much stirring it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belmont, California, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
AMAZING! We did a double batch and it is almost gone after the first sitting. The sour cream mellows out the sweetness and makes the cake moist. We will ABSOLUTELY be made again in this household!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Knowles Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
What an easy cake to make and a wonderful sweet treat. This cake is moist and delicious. (I did add a full cup of sour cream per the other reviews. That was my only change. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe!!! I used 1 cup of sour cream, and pecans which I added to the cake, for the filling I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice, I also added two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice to the cake and 2 tablespoons of orange juice. Very versatile recipe and easy to prepare!!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
After reading the many reviews of this coffee cake I baked it for my family following the directions exactly. I found it to dry, dense and the cake part way to sweet. I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Just pulled this out of the oven and cannot wait to cut into it... smells great and looks great...Very moist but lacking the taste I was looking for... Next bake i'll adjust the recipe by adding vanilla or almond and or use cream cheese instead of sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States