Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I decided to try this recipe to take to church. And everyone loved it. The aroma it gives is scruptous! I kept telling my husband to smell it. I only received one small taste, but everyone said it was real good. So, I plan to bake this again; maybe this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Great treat for a small group gathering and I was able to make substitution with ingredients I had. Followed another reviewer's (Kim) advice and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground ginger to flour mixture. For the batter, I added 1 tsp vanilla, substituted 1c brown sugar for white and 7/8 c vegetable oil for the butter. Poured 1/2 butter into greased 9X13 greased pan and spread thin layer of cream cheese filling(instead of the filling from original recipe) then remaining batter. For topping: mixed 1/3 c brown sugar, 2 tbsp flour, 2 tsp cinnamon and cut in 1 tbsp butter until mixture resemble coarse cornmeal. Added 1/3 c chopped walnuts (reduced amount of nuts for my taste) and some shredded sweetened coconut to topping mixture and sprinkle over coffee cake. Baked for 35-40 minutes and cooled before slicing. Next time I will try to make in Bundt pan and add some dried fruit or berries. This recipe allows lots of variation and stays moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madpotter

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was a super excellent recipe that was so moist! Everyone at work loved it! I changed some things to make it work for me: I added 1 tsp vanilla to the creamed mixture, and I increased the sour cream to 3/4 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. ginger to the flour mixture. When everything was mixed together, I added about 1 cup of frozen blueberries. I spread this whole thing into a 9x13 greased pan. Instead of having a layer of filling, I omitted that step and made a streusel like topping for the top: Cut together 1/2 stick butter, 3/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon. Add 1/3 cup quick oats and 1 cup chopped pecans. Mix together well and sprinkle over the top of cake. This baked for exactly 40 minutes and came out beautiful! I thought it was pretty easy to make and I'm glad that I came across this recipe. This is especially delicious with a cup of fresh, hot coffee! Thanks for sharing your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STARAJOY
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This cake is good, I used a heavy bunt pan and needed to bake an extra 10 minutes. We only used 1 tsp of cinnamon, and didn't add the nuts. My 3 & 6 yr olds can't eat nuts. I am sure it would have been great with the nuts too. The flavor is good, and my family likes it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
It was good -not as fluffy as I thought it'd be - tasted better warm. Maybe my ingredients were off. My butter & sour cream were a scant short; I'd add a bit more sour cream next. I shorted the cinnamon ~1/2 tsp after reading one of the reviews which was perfect for me. I dolloped the thick batter and sort of spread it, not too bad. It does spread out when baking a lot. I also will use a streusel topping & not just cinnamon sugar next time. Thanks for a good basic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I like this cake, but find it to be overly cinnamony. I usually skip the filling in the middle now, and instead add 1/2 tsp cinnamon and the nuts directly into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several times in the past two weeks. I do have a few suggestions. First, I don't mix the filling ingredients. I sprinkle the walnuts, then most of the sugar, then most of the cinnamon. I DO measure the sugar--if I were doing it by eye I would never add enough! (I put only the remaining sugar and cinnamon on top). To smooth the first layer of cake on the bottom I make sure to wet my hands. For the second layer of cake I actually take hand-fuls of batter and flatten them in my wet hands before laying them out. It is quite easy to join these pieces together. Don't worry if you don't reach the edges of your baking dish--this cake expands tremendously while baking. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was GREAT! I doubled the recipe and took it to our church coffee time and everyone raved about how good it was. I did add a little more sour cream as the batter was very thick and I cut in 1/2 stick of butter (for the doubled recipe) in the topping so it would stick together better. It held together really well and was easier to slice and hold together once cooled. It was hard to wait for it to cool to taste it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Higgins

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Very simple and very good! Batter does not pour but you have to spread it, and spreading it on top of the middle filling is tricky. I wet my hands and patted it out, that seemed to work better. Turned out pretty and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I bake this for my english friends when they come round for a cuppa tea and everyone raves about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Windsor, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States