Sour Cream Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I thought this was very moist and flavorful but my husband prefers the Betty Crooker version I make. This recipe is nice in a pinch as it uses less sour cream, and makes a small quantity, which also means fewer calories per slice! The only change I made was to include some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe turned out rather dense and not too flavorful. I attempted to add an apple layer in the middle using well minced apples (and not too much), mixed with the filling specified (minus walnuts) and it all sank to the bottom. I baked it in a bundt pan, and it came out rather ugly. The cake I assume would have been better without the apples weighing it down. Next time I think I will use 2 eggs instead of three, as it seemed like a little too much when using large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rice, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Fantastic! I did not have sourcream on hand, so I used sour milk instead (milk with a table spoon of vinegar) And I used brown sugar instead of white. It was a yummy breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
My 10 year old daughter made this all by herself... I just double checked her measurements. It was easy and fun! Very moist and yummy. We will be making this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom&nunu

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Turned out great... very moist. I doubled the recipe and made one with raisins instead of walnuts and one with neither. I also added extra cinnamon because I LOVE cinnamon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe is written. It was very good. Then I made it substituting 1/4 cup white suger with 1/4 cup brown sugar into the filling and I liked that even better. I had a hard time spreading the batter just like other readers said but thanks to the suggestion of dampening your hands and spreading the layer by hand it made the job a lot easier. Next I will try adding fruit to this and maybe 1/4 tsp vanilla. Still it is a very good recipe as is and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This cake was a hit at our Christmas brunch. I'd made it once before. This time I added 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla to the batter. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I made it in a bundt pan and instead of nuts I used chocolate chips! Absolutely delicious and nice looking as well. I will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Love it, Loved it and had to make it again the next day for my coworkers!! Did not change a thing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKFIFE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I love this cake!! I do have a few changes that work better for me than the original recipe. I use brown sugar instead of white for the filling. I also put close to a cup of sour cream rather than a half cup. Then I add a half cup of milk to thin out the batter a bit. It always comes out so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gorsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States