Sour Cream Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
VERY good coffee cake! Has just the right amount of sweetness. I made the glaze but instead of putting sprinkles, I sprinkled on some leftover chopped walnuts. It looked beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2000
This is one of the most flavourful coffee cakes I have ever made--delicious! (Flexible too--instead of a bundt pan, I made mini-loaves and muffins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I have to add a little tip after making this every other week for probably 5 years...Do not sit the butter in the room any more than 15 mins. Butter need to be firm/cold to retain air. I always thought room temperature butter is the best to work with for baking. Please work with cold butter!!! I guarantee the out come would be way better. *********** This is soooo my favorite. I've made this so many times. I like it a little less sweet, so I reduce white sugar to 3/4 cup. I've tried 1/2 cup and it came out a bit dry. And fat free sour cream makes it a bit dry too. So, stick with the regular sour cream. Also, I’ve tried few different baking pans, but I found baking in a 10 inch tube pan makes it the moistest cake. Of course Bundt cake looks pretty, but I take the taste over the looks. Yum. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
It would be a lot better looking if only white sugar was used in this recipe. Brown sugar makes the cake look too dark. Also, I added some coarsely chopped walnuts which made the filling really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I made this for brunch this week-end and it was a very, very popular addition to my usual egg casserole, fruit salad, greens salad, and assorted meats menu. It is easy to prepare, light to eat and looks very "special" when cooked in a fluted pan. Even my two-year-old granddaughter really enjoyed it. It stayed nice and moist and the glaze was just the right amount of topping for a breakfast entree. You could easily add a few chopped nuts (pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts) to the cinnamon mixture, if desired. I highly recommend this recipe both as a breakfast/brunch item or a dessert item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Very good taste, very moist...the only thing I would change is to cut back on the milk, i found 4 Tabelspoons made the glaze much too runny, and it all ended up on the bottom of the plate.Otherwise it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Sorry to say but I didn't like this cake at all. I found it very heavy and dense. Also, I only used 2 1/2 of the milk instead of 4. The glaze is too runny with 4. Won't make again. Will go back to my usual sour cream coffee cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This coffee cake is fabulous! My nephew said all it needed was the extra middle part of brown sugar and cinnamon! I even put double the amount in!! Very good and will be made often! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
This came out wonderfully. It's not too sweet, but it's very moist. It makes a great breakfast cake. I plan on making it for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
This very tasty! It doesn't crumble like some other cakes would
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States