Sour Cream Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This just became one of my family's favorites! I only made a couple of changes. First, I added 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce to the wet ingredients. Next, I added 3/4 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. I baked the cake at 45 minutes exactly and I omitted the icing. The cake was melt-in-your-mouth moist with just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is the first from scratch cake that my kids liked,it dissapeared so fast!Didn't really change anything except I used self rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2_8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Nice! I chose this recipe because it was relatively lean compared to the other coffee cakes on this site. It turned out very moist and flavorful, although a little dense. Looking at the structure of the cake though, it seemed a little denser on the bottom than the top, which leads me to believe that the density had to do with the temperature of the ingredients. I will try next time with all room-temp ingredients and see if it makes a difference (I used eggs and sour cream straight from the fridge this time). The cake was baked in a silicone bundt pan that had been crisco-ed and floured, and slipped out easily after 45 minutes of cooling. I too noticed the lack of salt, and added 3/4 tsp of salt to add dimension. Also reduced the white sugar to 3/4 cups and thought it was the perfect amount of sweetness - I like coffee cake but find most bakery versions much too sweet. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Recipe was good... a tad dry at 45 min for me. I wish I'd waited longer before trying to remove from the pan (my fault) because it split... Luckily the glaze I put on coverd most of the cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Delicious and easy, my 2 favorite things in any recipe! I had a bag a cinnamon chips on hand so I used them instead of the cinnamon/sugar mixture, and mixed just 1 cup of them in to the 2nd 1/2 of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCZYZYK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I did not like this recipe at all. Very dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I have to add a little tip after making this every other week for probably 5 years...Do not sit the butter in the room any more than 15 mins. Butter need to be firm/cold to retain air. I always thought room temperature butter is the best to work with for baking. Please work with cold butter!!! I guarantee the out come would be way better. *********** This is soooo my favorite. I've made this so many times. I like it a little less sweet, so I reduce white sugar to 3/4 cup. I've tried 1/2 cup and it came out a bit dry. And fat free sour cream makes it a bit dry too. So, stick with the regular sour cream. Also, I’ve tried few different baking pans, but I found baking in a 10 inch tube pan makes it the moistest cake. Of course Bundt cake looks pretty, but I take the taste over the looks. Yum. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I made this for a Christmas party at my boyfriend's. Because he didn't have a bundt pan, I made it in a bread pan, which obviously would make thorough cooking more difficult. I cooked it almost completely, took it out, cut down the middle, covered it with parchment paper so it wouldn't burn, and then finished baking it. It turned out great, a perfect texture to it. I did a glaze on it, and then dribbled chocolate over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
I did like the basic recipe, but changed the finish a bit. I made them into jumbo muffins and omitted the icing. Instead, I used two tablespoons butter, one tablespoon cinnamon and three tablespoons flour. I mashed these together with a fork until crumbly. Sprinkle on top, and my friends chowed them! I'll make them again, especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Running Elk

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pine Ridge, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Slana, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
AWESOME came out perfect....I added a chocolate marble to it with melted milk chocolate squares....and a chocolate glaze drizzle...looked at good as it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States