Sour Cream Coffee Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I made this in a 9×5 loaf pan and had the oven at 350 for 30min and turned it off and let it sit the last 15min. It turned out well and was moist and was gone within minutes but it seemed bland to me. I did 2 layers of the brown sugar cinnamon mix but maybe next time I'll use more and put cinnamon in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennischarf
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yummy and easy!! My 7 year old helped with most if this ... And for non bakers we had all the ingredients in the house already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I read the reviews before making the cake to see what would be helpful. I made it the way the recipe said except I didn't use the sprinkles or make the glaze. I used my stand mixer and the batter was very light and airy. I was surprised at this because so many others had spoken of the thick batter, dense cake and long baking time. My butter and eggs were at room temperature. I had forgotten to put the sour cream out so that was used cold. The cake was sweet and not dense at all and I didn't mind the color. I forgot how long it took to bake but I know it was not long at all. My friend liked it as well. I added pecans to the cinnamon mix. I liked making a bundt cake that only needed one stick of butter. I will make it again and add different ingredients like blueberries, walnuts, maybe smashed bananas, whatever I can think of. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Excellent coffee cake- as written! I used real sour cream off the farm. This is not a fluff cake- it is denser and richer with a more interesting and complex flavor. Reminds me of a cake I used to make with sourdough starter. I did not ice this cake and it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This recipe worked awesome - very moist. Added some finely chopped apple to the middle cinnamon layer and was great. Cooked it in a square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Your mother-in-law must be a very good cook. This cake is excellent,and very simple to make. Looks great when baked and tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I'm not sure what happened here...made exactly as written. Cake came out with a good flavor, but was heavy, dense, and extremely greasy. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I'd never made a coffee cake before, and this turned out just great! Very moist, flavorful, and pretty easy to whip together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good - I was out of vanilla so I used almond extract and put some sliced almond in the filling. The cake recipe is wonderful - perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States