Sour Cream Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I'm in love! First off, I usually stink at making pork chops. This is the first recipe I've found where the chops didn't turn out like dry shoe leather. In this recipe they are as moist as meat can be. The sauce is so flavorful. The basil makes this dish (I substituted about 2 tsp dry basil). The recipe was simple to make. You could probably throw in an extra chop or two since it makes ample sauce. I wouldn't suggest making any other substitutions, as this recipe is perfect as-is (except, I'm sure it would also be great with chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I made this in the crockpot so I didn't heat up the kitchen.I browned the pork first.My whole family loved it!!!!We have some picky eaters too.I will use this recipe again.It's very easy and quick and tastes amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaston, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
Very tasty dish. I made it with 2 pork chops and 2 chicken breasts in the same pan and they all turned out great! Didn't need full hour of simmering to cook through, but neither meat toughened while I left it on the stove to stay warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Yumm....My husband loved this dish. I've made it twice this week. The combination of onion, garlic, basil, mushrooms and tomatoes really perk up plain old pork chops. It tastes great even without sour cream. I've used thick cut pork chops and pork cutlets and they both turned out wonderful. If you use pork cutlets, reduce your cooking time in half. Definitely a keeper! Thanks Lisa Dawn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
The pork turned out tasty and tender. The only thing I did different is double the garlic. This is a keeper! DEEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I thought this was Ok. My family ate it but weren't overly impressed. I thought it was rather bland. If I were to make it again, I would eliminate the milk as I found the sauce a little runny, and I would also boost the seasonings a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
pork chops were good but the rest was just blah. Didn't hate it, but didn't like it enough to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This is excellent. I actually made it exactly as is, and it is very good. The sauce is a little thin, so I would use whole milk maybe (I used fat free). I also removed the pork chops and added the sour cream to the sauce and it thickened up a little bit. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Oh my gosh...fabulous! Only change I made was to use more soup for extra gravy but used cream of mushroom and cream of celery instead of chicken based. The fresh tomato, especially since they're in season, added just the right texture. And the basil was the perfect seasoning. I will make these again and again. Thanks for the new twist on chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I feel awful that I'm in the minority here, maybe I did something wrong, I was quite surprised that it didn't have more flavor than it did. Although my pork chops were nice and tender, I wasn't really impressed with the sauce. It may have been the cream of chicken, maybe the brand I used, I'm just not sure, I followed the recipe to a 'T' and thought I'd love it. My husband enjoyed it, but he will generally eat anything. :) Sorry that I'm in the minority! Maybe I'll try it again and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States