Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I was a bit unsure of using the sour cream because I normally would make frosting with cream cheese but it still turned out delicious. I filled the middle of the cake with a layer of the frosting and should have made more because I ran out and only could frost the top. Will most definitely use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UsMcLachlans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Sorry to say, but I was disappointed with this frosting. It just wasn't the flavor I was going for. I only used two cups of the sugar and it was plenty sweet enough. Another 3/4 cup of sugar would have been WAY too sweet. It didn't have enough tang so I added a little bit of cream cheese and that improved it a little. The chocolate chip flavor just overwhelmed everything. Maybe I would like it better if I used cocoa powder instead to get the chocolate flavor without the obvious chocolate chip flavor. All in all, not terrible, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
it's.... different. definitely yummy though! good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiki Kooks
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The most delicious chocolate frosting ever! It is so creative, yet sooo good! everyone asks me for the recipe and it is simple- and slightly surprising!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiki Kooks
Photo by MelissasMeals
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I will NEVER EVER buy canned frosting again! Even in a pinch for time, this is still easy & simple to make! The sour cream makes this frosting sooo good! I would recommend this without hesitation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
this was a great recipe tasted really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I added 1 tablespoon of coco powder and it made it super rich!!! I highly suggest it. It will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Best icing I've ever made. I'm not sure how much confectioner's sugar I use as I just added until it was a good consisetncy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
awesome. I reduced the amount of sugar, and added a bit more chocolate. it was the best frosting I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States