Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
This frosting was easy to make, was tasty - not too sweet and not too chocolaty. I was able to add more powdered sugar to increase consistency. I absolutely loved it - will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Yum! Great recipe. Used margarine instead of butter. I agree that this is a tangy frosting, not too sweet as another reviewer thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a good basic frosting recipe. I did cut back on the powdered sugar as suggested by others, but I think I cut back to far. I put this on a dark chocolate box cake and while it did have the "tang" I should have added just a touch more sugar, but still good flavor. I did sift the sugar. Nice consistency. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FernAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allegan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a great frosting recipe. Despite reviews to add only half the sugar I added all and was glad I did. I like to decorate my cakes and even with all the sugar it was soft (but NOT runny). For the decorative piping I added a little extra sugar for firmness and the piping looked fine. The taste was really great too. I have had great luck with letting a cake sit for a few hours (or overnight) before serving. This seems to enhance the flavors of the cake and the frosting together. It was really good and very easy to make. I made it with the "Black Magic Cake" for my husbands birthday and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Had a box (yeah I said box) of yellow cake mix that needed to be used up. I decided to make cupcakes and I wanted a quick, easy, not too sweet chocolate frosting for them. I did cut back on the powdered sugar a bit as a personal preference. While this didn't have a very deep chocolate flavor it was certainly quick and easy. I would make this one again. Thank you for the recipe Mary Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a GREAT frosting. Melt in your mouth,made per recipe and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i didn't really measure anything except the butter...and it's because sticks of butter say where to cut for each tablespoon. :) i know i didn't have enough confectioners sugar. i melted 1/3 cup sugar w/ the butter and chocolate (again...i used left over chocolates given to me from friends for xmas...it's what i had lol) but the jist??? sour cream+chocolate=frosting recipe= FABULOUS!!! i knew by using darker chocolate would make the frosting set up, if chilled, so thankfullly the laws of science and chemestry still hold up in everyday kitchens. :) :) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent. Like others, decreased confec sugar to 2c added 1T coco powder, added 2 oz bakers choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I like my chocolate frosting a bit more chocolaty but this was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
There is not much to say, other than this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States