Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Imade this cake with and without the. Chocolate chips, and both ways were delicious. I also made it in a cup cake form, and I think it was too oily for that, as the holders for the cake were very greasy for the kids to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Delicious, creamy chocolate frosting. It was the perfect topping for" Kristin's Fudgy Brownies" on this site. This made more than I needed for a 13 x 9 pan so I used the extra frosting between graham cracker squares. Yum! Thanks Mary Beth for sharing your frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Perfect! I followed the directions and ingredients exactly and it came out so delicious, smooth and silky. As for those who had a problem with it being "gritty", maybe try using a rubber spatula to mix it like I did. Adding the powdered sugar gradually as directed, I kept smacking the #$@% out of it until it was smooth before adding more. I will use this recipe again, just as it is, PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Great frosting! I got a delicious grunt from my husband as he was licking the beaters. That's a good thing!!! This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Frosting turned out well. I added 2 cups of powdered sugar and it worked for my tastes, not too sweet but not too tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Very yummy...loved the bit of 'tang' from the sour cream! I scaled this recipe down as I only needed enough to frost Humungous Cookies, from AR too. I didn't actually frost, but rather 'wrote on' the big cookies. Super easy to make and it set up nicely as writing on my cookies! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Super easy and delicious. I used only 1 cup of powdered sugar and added cayenne pepper since I love the contrast between spicy and sweet. Used this on 12 cupcakes and had enough frosting left over for 12 more. Thanks Mary Beth for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this tonight to top a basic chocolate cake. It was really easy and really good! I loved that the frosting was creamy and easy to spread. I am not a fan of the typical buttercream frosting. I thought this was much better. I did cut down on the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Easy and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I revised the recipe to include a little heavy cream and then added some extra powdered sugar -- beating with a mixer until it was the right consistency for frosting. The flavor was good. I added one tbls. of cocoa powder when I melted the butter and chocolate chips together. Next time I might add 2 tbls. of cocoa powder to boost the chocolate flavor a little more. With my changes, I had enough frosting to GENEROUSLY frost 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoodman5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States