Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Love this - I prefer less sweet, so only add 1 cup of conf. sugar. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
goes GREAT with black magic cake recipe by marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This indeed the best chocolate filling i had ever taste, it is balanced, and you even can adjust the sweetness by sugar and chocolate ( you might use dark chocolate for bitter, richer taste) I have used this reciepe for my baby 1st birthday cake, but used it as a filling only and it was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by da.princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a fantastic and flexible frosting recipe. This pairs perfectly with lighter cakes and cupcakes such as German chocolate. It is a bit heavier and sweeter as stated. The second time I added dark chocolate about 2 ounces and reduced the powdered sugar to 2 cups. It was excellent on buttermilk yellow cupcakes with a more chocolatey flavor The sour cream keeps the frosting from getting crusty. Holds well for a few days. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I read all the reviews and was going to cut back on the sugar, but I'm glad I didn't. Not sure why you would cut back, I didn't find it to be that sweet at all - still much less sweeter than store bought frosting-in-the-jar type stuff. The biggest problem I had with this is that it was too thin, and didn't make enough to cover a regular double layer (two 9" rounds) cake. I made extra right off the bat and I'm glad I did. I wasn't really impressed with this at all, and btw, I didn't taste any hints of sour cream at all. I'd have to say go find another recipe if you're looking for a really good frosting.... Three stars for flavor, but I'd give it two for the thin consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is delicious! Much more rich and smooth than your normal chocolate frosting made with cocoa powder. I took Renee's suggestion and didn't use all of the sugar - I ended up using almost 2 cups and it's still very sweet and a great consistency. This is my new go-to chocolate frosting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Absolutely yummy! Perfect tangy taste! I used it to complement a rich dark chocolate cake batter and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Ok recipe as written, but extremely sweet. To cut sweetness, I did a few things differently. Gently brown the butter over low heat, add a heaping Tbsp flour. and 1 Tbsp good quality cocoa powder (NOT hot cocoa powder), and then add the chocolate chips. Heat thru and stir until all chips are melted. Next, instead of waiting until mixture cools, just let it sit for a few minutes, stirring occasionally, then add the powdered sugar before everything else. Stir to combine well (adding to still warm butter/chocolate mixture helps to soften the sugar crystals so that frosting is less "grainy" in texture), then add the vanilla and salt. Add the sour cream last, a little at a time, until you have desired tartness to sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is an OMG recipe!!! Excellent and delicious. I used non fat yogurt...lower in calories. That's almost a joke when making this recipe, but any calories you can save is worth it! This is absolutely delicious! It's my favorite chocolate icing now! No need to alter a thing. Just enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Really good frosting! Used it to top a new eclair recipe that I tried...worked perfectly! I used sugar free chocolate chips and next time I am going to mess around with healthier options for the powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States