Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My new favorite frosting! I tried on a whim and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I totally enjoyed this recipe! I cut down on the ingredients and it still frosted 9×13 in cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I live in bush Alaska where a can of frosting is nearly $10. This recipe is wonderful. For a deeper chocolate flavor I added 2 tbsp of unsweetened cocoa powder. I made a white frosting, using white chips and it was outstanding. I added a 1/4 tsp orange extract and reduce vanilla to 3/4 tsp. I did reduce the powdered sugar by 3/4 cup when I was frosting a cake but found a needed a stiffer frosting for cupcakes and used the full amount. It held its shape for a long time. This is now a favorite in Stebbins, Alaska.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great. Easy. Didn't use a huge amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
excellent frosting - I added coconut chips and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was o.k. It was too loose to pipe. The flavor was very sweet and a little odd (not chocolate or sour cream, but a weird in between taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Like another user, I used cocoa powder and 3/4 cup of butter, this frosting is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was perfect as is. Used a double broiler to melt the chocolate and butter then mixed everything together in the kitchen aid - so smooth and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Not good. This is a horrible sweet recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimshan13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I made this last night as frosting for a Boston cream cake. I made it with plain yogurt instead, as others had suggested and cut way back on the confectioners sugar too. I found it to be a little tart so next time I will try the recipe exactly as written instead. As a note for others trying this recipe, the amount of confectioners sugar used will also be reflected in the consistency of your frosting - because I had used less sugar, when the frosting cooled it also hardened making it more difficult and messy to cut thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States