Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I added 1 tablespoon of coco powder and it made it super rich!!! I highly suggest it. It will knock your socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Best icing I've ever made. I'm not sure how much confectioner's sugar I use as I just added until it was a good consisetncy. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
awesome. I reduced the amount of sugar, and added a bit more chocolate. it was the best frosting I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
If you like chocolate you should definitely like this. It was easy and tasted darned good, too! There was plenty to frost 2 9 inch cakes. No skimping here. Made as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This frosting was fabulous! However, I tasted it after adding only 2 cups of sugar and liked it better and wished I hadn't added the last 3/4 c. The last 3/4 c. made it too sweet and you couldn't taste the tang of the sour cream. Will definitely use this recipe again, but with the modification of only adding 2 c. sugar. (Also, I learned that you shouldn't chill this frosting or it will set up too thick and you'll have to soften it in the microwave for a few seconds.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Wonderfully easy with great consistency. Super rich and creamy. This frosting also does great after freezing. I had stored the left-overs in the freezer and then took them out to frost some cupcakes I'd made on the fly one weekend. The consistency was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Auld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this frosting! The consistency was nice and firm, yet still fluffy. I really like the tang from the sour cream - added just enough flavor to make this frosting special. The only reason I didn't give the frosting 5 stars is because I altered the type of chocolate used - I used 3 squares of bakers chocolate instead of the chips. I did this because of the reviews stating that the frosting was too sweet. I wanted a big batch of frosting, so I wanted to use all of the sugar. With this substitution, I thought the flavor was perfect - not too sweet and not too bitter. I will use this recipe (with modification) over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Delicious! Like others I used less sugar, probably about 2 cups. Sooooo good on the chocolate cupcakes I made. I will definitely be using this again and again for birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States