Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
This soooo good! Tastes just my normal chocolate frosting with a bit of extra tang. We spread this over the chocolate cake recipe from the back of the Swan's Down cake flour box. Instant emergency chocolate fix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I made this recipe EXACTLY as it said. It wasn't too sweet, the consistency was perfect and It spread nicely. The only thing different is it is a much darker 'looking' frosting than this picture shows. I think the sour cream gave it a nice gleam, texture and it definitely wasn't as chocolate tasting as a recipe without sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Used 3T cocoa powder and 3T special dark cocoa powder. Decreased powdered sugar but then it was too runny. Added a half package of special dark instant chocolate pudding to thicken up. SUPER FUDGY. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I just made this and have to say it is very easy to make. Very creamy. I liked it, but didn't love it. I guess I wasn't expecting the tanginess from the sour cream to stand out so much. But is was a nice change and may make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Pretty darn good! Made it with "Crazy Cake" and the two together were a hit. Only four stars because I could do with more tang, and I had to fiddle a bit to get a consistency I could decorate with (added milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplevegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I used a 70% cacao chocolate bar that I grated, and melted with my butter, and I used baker's sugar with tapioca as a corn free version of this frosting. It was slightly grainy, but it had a decadent taste that was perfect with the "Dinette Cake" recipe elsewhere on this site. I put fresh raspberries on top of my old fashioned white cake with sour cream and dark chocolate frosting. My guests raved over the retro 1950's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
This is my favourite chocolate frosting recipe, I don't like basic buttercreams as they are too rich and a little greasy to me but this one is nice enough to eat with a spoon. The chocolate I used had 72% cocoa solids (I chopped up a bar) and I just added the sugar bit by bit until I liked the consistency and taste so this recipe wasn't too sweet for me. If I had to guess I'd say I used about half of the amount of powdered sugar. This one is a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilgoodi
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Rich and creamy with a little tang. I like the depth of flavor the sour cream adds - not just all sugar flavor. I made for a batch of yellow cake cupcakes and it was perfect. Because not everyone likes the tanginess of a sour cream frosting, I added little bits of bacon to match with the flavor. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Easy and goes perfectly with my hot pepper brownies! Was afraid of consistancy at first but after a few minutes it cooled more and set up nicely. Was able to pipe. Everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The first time I didn't let the chocolate cool enough I think. Was very thick. So, the next time, I listened to the other viewers and I added 1 extra tablespoon of butter to the chocolate chips. Then I let cool. Then I added a splash of almond extract to the mix with the vanilla. I gradually added powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time while keeping track. I actually liked it's consistency at 3 cups. It was delicious! My son even requested it for the next cake! I'm not using store bought anymore! This was quite easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States