Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This was a great recipe basis. However, I like chocolate frosting to be SUPER chocolatey and not very sugary at all. So I used much less sugar (to taste) and melted two oz. unsweetened chocolate with a handful of semisweet chips and a tab of butter. I then added this to the frosting, making it dreamily rich and intense. To bring out the chocolate flavor even more, I stirred some instant coffee with a bit of water (one could also mix it with the extract) and added to taste. The result: sinfully rich and uber chocolatey frosting that holds its shape and is perfect on Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes (also on this site). It couldn't get any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Delicious and super easy to make. Like other reviewers I only needed about half the recommended amount of powdered suger to achieve the right consistancy. You should also know that the frosting is extremely sweet, so go easy with it. In addition, be sure to sift the sugar so you don't end up with lumpy frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great frosting!! I made it on the spur of the moment and had to substitute cocoa powder for the chocolate chips by using 6 TBSP. of cocoa and 1/2 cup of butter and half the powdered sugar and it turned out great. Just enough to frost a 9x13 cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This is the best Chocolate Frosting I've ever had and very easy to make. The sour cream is a great addition and greatly improves the taste. I got rave reviews from my family. Goes great with One Bowl Chocolate Cake III! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancer4theking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Had a box (yeah I said box) of yellow cake mix that needed to be used up. I decided to make cupcakes and I wanted a quick, easy, not too sweet chocolate frosting for them. I did cut back on the powdered sugar a bit as a personal preference. While this didn't have a very deep chocolate flavor it was certainly quick and easy. I would make this one again. Thank you for the recipe Mary Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Photo by cookinme
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This is a deliciously rich frosting. I made a Pirate Ship cake for my son't 4th Birthday party. I used this frosting on it. I did double the recipe and had just enough. Everyone enjoyed the frosting....some even asked for the recipe. I love the bit of tang the sourcream gives it. Thanks Mary Beth....this will be used over and over, I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Nice creamy, chocolatey frosting. I used milk chocolate chips and only a cup of powdered sugar, and frosted a devil's food cake. I think I'll use dark chocolate next time for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
This is a terrific recipe! It was a huge hit with my family and friends that tried it! Excellent flavor, texture and spreadability! It even smells great! I am making another cake (1 week later) for another birthday party and this frosting was specifically requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Smooth and tasty! I added 1 tablespoon of cocoa and also 1/2 cup whipped cream cheese and reduced the sugar to two cups. An earlier review mentioned adding a bit of instant coffee which made this the best I've ever made. Thank you! I plan on playing with this recipe with different levels of cocoa and dark chocolate. I plan to spread a thin layer of my raspberry freezer jam to the center of my next cake.....OMG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This is easily the best chocolate frosting recipe I have ever tried. I put it in my Kitchen Aid mixer for a just a few minutes and it was light, creamy, rich and chocolate-y. This will turn any cake into a delight! My guests asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States