Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Mmm, This frosting is great, that sour cream adds a nice tang and it goes great on top of a super sweet dessert (like one bowl chocolate cake 3 from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by themrs720
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good - very chocolatey! I have been in search of the "perfect" chocolate homemade frosting and this has been the best so far, just not the "perfect" one I'm looking for. Love the sour cream. I did use 2 1/4 cups and powdered sugar and it was plenty sweet. However, my consitency was not as thick as I would have liked. Which kind of confuses me b/c the pcitures posted are thick and creamy (?). While it was good, this is very chocolatey, and I was wanted more of a richer deeper chocolate taste. This reminded us of milk chocolate rather than a fudge chocolate. I used on a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good, basic frosting. Definetly easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Mmm, mmm, mmmmm! That sour cream add's an excellent zip;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I used Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips and slightly less than two cups of powdered sugar, which I did sift first. Ended up with a delicious, satiny frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This frosting is easy to make and very spreadable. It is not too sweet which is how I prefer frosting. I put it on the "magic chocolate" cake from this site. Got raves from everyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very easy. An extremely smooth texture, easy to spread and very chocolatey. I made it exactly as directed with great success. Next time I'm thinking of "tweeking" it toward the Mocha side with powdered coffee granules. Not sure it will work well, but I'm going to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livingston, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I'm adding my 5 stars to the list of this great recipe! I made this frosting and only modified it by adding a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder and about 2oz. of baking chocolate. Put this on top of the "BLACK MAGIC CAKE" from this sight. I baked the cake in a 9X13 pan and when cooled, I split the cake in half to make two layers (using a Wilton cake slicer) and then put the two halves back together with a whole jar of marshmallow creme fluff. I called it a Susy Q (like Hostess cakes but only with frosting!) cake at the party I took it too. Great hit with the chocolate loving ladies there!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States