Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a great frosting recipe. Despite reviews to add only half the sugar I added all and was glad I did. I like to decorate my cakes and even with all the sugar it was soft (but NOT runny). For the decorative piping I added a little extra sugar for firmness and the piping looked fine. The taste was really great too. I have had great luck with letting a cake sit for a few hours (or overnight) before serving. This seems to enhance the flavors of the cake and the frosting together. It was really good and very easy to make. I made it with the "Black Magic Cake" for my husbands birthday and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Had a box (yeah I said box) of yellow cake mix that needed to be used up. I decided to make cupcakes and I wanted a quick, easy, not too sweet chocolate frosting for them. I did cut back on the powdered sugar a bit as a personal preference. While this didn't have a very deep chocolate flavor it was certainly quick and easy. I would make this one again. Thank you for the recipe Mary Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a GREAT frosting. Melt in your mouth,made per recipe and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i didn't really measure anything except the butter...and it's because sticks of butter say where to cut for each tablespoon. :) i know i didn't have enough confectioners sugar. i melted 1/3 cup sugar w/ the butter and chocolate (again...i used left over chocolates given to me from friends for xmas...it's what i had lol) but the jist??? sour cream+chocolate=frosting recipe= FABULOUS!!! i knew by using darker chocolate would make the frosting set up, if chilled, so thankfullly the laws of science and chemestry still hold up in everyday kitchens. :) :) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent. Like others, decreased confec sugar to 2c added 1T coco powder, added 2 oz bakers choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I like my chocolate frosting a bit more chocolaty but this was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
There is not much to say, other than this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was an excellent frosting. It was thick and rich (maybe just a little too rich!) and had a nice balance of sweet and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingluv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Mmm, This frosting is great, that sour cream adds a nice tang and it goes great on top of a super sweet dessert (like one bowl chocolate cake 3 from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by themrs720
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good - very chocolatey! I have been in search of the "perfect" chocolate homemade frosting and this has been the best so far, just not the "perfect" one I'm looking for. Love the sour cream. I did use 2 1/4 cups and powdered sugar and it was plenty sweet. However, my consitency was not as thick as I would have liked. Which kind of confuses me b/c the pcitures posted are thick and creamy (?). While it was good, this is very chocolatey, and I was wanted more of a richer deeper chocolate taste. This reminded us of milk chocolate rather than a fudge chocolate. I used on a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States