Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was a great frosting recipe. Despite reviews to add only half the sugar I added all and was glad I did. I like to decorate my cakes and even with all the sugar it was soft (but NOT runny). For the decorative piping I added a little extra sugar for firmness and the piping looked fine. The taste was really great too. I have had great luck with letting a cake sit for a few hours (or overnight) before serving. This seems to enhance the flavors of the cake and the frosting together. It was really good and very easy to make. I made it with the "Black Magic Cake" for my husbands birthday and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Had a box (yeah I said box) of yellow cake mix that needed to be used up. I decided to make cupcakes and I wanted a quick, easy, not too sweet chocolate frosting for them. I did cut back on the powdered sugar a bit as a personal preference. While this didn't have a very deep chocolate flavor it was certainly quick and easy. I would make this one again. Thank you for the recipe Mary Beth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is a GREAT frosting. Melt in your mouth,made per recipe and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
i didn't really measure anything except the butter...and it's because sticks of butter say where to cut for each tablespoon. :) i know i didn't have enough confectioners sugar. i melted 1/3 cup sugar w/ the butter and chocolate (again...i used left over chocolates given to me from friends for xmas...it's what i had lol) but the jist??? sour cream+chocolate=frosting recipe= FABULOUS!!! i knew by using darker chocolate would make the frosting set up, if chilled, so thankfullly the laws of science and chemestry still hold up in everyday kitchens. :) :) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Excellent. Like others, decreased confec sugar to 2c added 1T coco powder, added 2 oz bakers choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I like my chocolate frosting a bit more chocolaty but this was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
There is not much to say, other than this is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was an excellent frosting. It was thick and rich (maybe just a little too rich!) and had a nice balance of sweet and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingluv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Mmm, This frosting is great, that sour cream adds a nice tang and it goes great on top of a super sweet dessert (like one bowl chocolate cake 3 from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by themrs720
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good - very chocolatey! I have been in search of the "perfect" chocolate homemade frosting and this has been the best so far, just not the "perfect" one I'm looking for. Love the sour cream. I did use 2 1/4 cups and powdered sugar and it was plenty sweet. However, my consitency was not as thick as I would have liked. Which kind of confuses me b/c the pcitures posted are thick and creamy (?). While it was good, this is very chocolatey, and I was wanted more of a richer deeper chocolate taste. This reminded us of milk chocolate rather than a fudge chocolate. I used on a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States