Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Easy to follow and make. My cupcakes were frosted start-to-finish in 45 minutes flat! (even with a mini helper) It was perfectly sweetened (not too sweet, not too bitter) and I put it on top of the One Bowl Chocolate Cake recipe found here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Great recipe! I always looked for a chocolate frosting that did not get hard. This is the one. I too cut back on the sugar but it was creamy and awesome. Has a definite subtle bite with the sour cream, but a pleasant experience. Very versatile icing as well...decorating or just frosting a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This frosting is yum, yum yummy! I made it with all the ingredients, just as instructed and it tasted great! My only problem was the consistency: no matter how long I beat it, it would not stiffen up. This may have been my fault, however, as I did not let the chocolate/butter mixture cool very much before adding the remaining ingredients. Will be more careful to do that when I make it again, and I WILL make it again! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Just made this frosting to frost a yellow butter cake. I followed other reviewer suggestions and cut back the sifted powdered sugar to 2 cups and I added 1 tsp. instant coffee. I love the hint of coffee and the sour cream gives it a nice tang but I still find it to be quite sweet. It made my teeth tingle a little :-)) It is very chocolatey and rich on its own so hopefully tasting it on cake may tone it down a bit, Overall, very delicious and creamy. I'd make it again for the ease of it alone. I might try mixing the semi-sweet with some other types of chocolate to change it up now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Love this - I prefer less sweet, so only add 1 cup of conf. sugar. yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
goes GREAT with black magic cake recipe by marsha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This indeed the best chocolate filling i had ever taste, it is balanced, and you even can adjust the sweetness by sugar and chocolate ( you might use dark chocolate for bitter, richer taste) I have used this reciepe for my baby 1st birthday cake, but used it as a filling only and it was awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by da.princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is a fantastic and flexible frosting recipe. This pairs perfectly with lighter cakes and cupcakes such as German chocolate. It is a bit heavier and sweeter as stated. The second time I added dark chocolate about 2 ounces and reduced the powdered sugar to 2 cups. It was excellent on buttermilk yellow cupcakes with a more chocolatey flavor The sour cream keeps the frosting from getting crusty. Holds well for a few days. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I read all the reviews and was going to cut back on the sugar, but I'm glad I didn't. Not sure why you would cut back, I didn't find it to be that sweet at all - still much less sweeter than store bought frosting-in-the-jar type stuff. The biggest problem I had with this is that it was too thin, and didn't make enough to cover a regular double layer (two 9" rounds) cake. I made extra right off the bat and I'm glad I did. I wasn't really impressed with this at all, and btw, I didn't taste any hints of sour cream at all. I'd have to say go find another recipe if you're looking for a really good frosting.... Three stars for flavor, but I'd give it two for the thin consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEADMEISTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baldwin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is delicious! Much more rich and smooth than your normal chocolate frosting made with cocoa powder. I took Renee's suggestion and didn't use all of the sugar - I ended up using almost 2 cups and it's still very sweet and a great consistency. This is my new go-to chocolate frosting recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States