Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
Very good recipe. Cake is moist and rich. One thing the recipe does not mention which novice bakers, like myself, may not realize is to grease the pan. Other than that, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was a dissapointment. I will try again, but leave out the chocolate chips in the batter. I'll make more topping for the middle of the cake and the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was absolutely amazing. Last week my huge Sams Club sized Sour cream expired. I didn't want to throw it out so I looked up some recipes. I added an extra scoop of sour cream trying to reduce the amount I had left. I also added in a pinch of cinnamon and pumpkin pie because I read it was kinda bland. So the cake was very moist. The chocolate chips went to the bottom so I flipped the piece of cake so the melted chips were like frosting but on the inside. Will be making it many times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This cake was very moist and tasty. I prepared mine in the 8x8 inch pan and had to increase the cooking time as the middle of the cake was not completely cooked after 45 minutes. I also made extra topping which gave the cake a little extra crunch. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This was really good as cupcakes for my kids. I misread and though it would be a chocolate batter with chocolate chips so when I got all of my ingredients out I realized it wasn't. I didn't want to look for another recipe so I added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and about another 1/3 cup of sour cream. Mine turned out nice and light and chocolatley and not crumbly like alot of cakes. I did not do the topper on here either. Since it was cupcakes I made a cream cheese icing. Was sooooo yummy with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2002
My family thoroughly enjoyed this cake. Very moist and easy to put together. I made a double recipe and used my large loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I haven't tasted this cake yet, but wanted to advise that this recipe should not be baked in a 8x8 pan. It's far too small and the middle of my cake is nearly raw and the edges super crisp after baking for 65 minutes. Next time I will try a 9x9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddaisyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LACEYNICE
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and it was AMAZING! I made it in the 8x8 pan. So yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Couple of substitutions/additions: 1. Used Chobani plain nonfat greek yogurt rather than sour cream. I use that substitution quite a bit to good effect. 2. Couldn't bare the thought of a vanilla looking cake so added a 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa powder. Voila! Chocolate cake. 3. Added some instant coffee. About 1/8 cup, for additional flavor. 4. Did not do the streusel mixture at all. Frosting, which I did not make, may be overkill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Best cake ever!! Instead of mixing the chocolate chips with the batter, i added them over the cake before bake it. Otherwise, all the chips go to the bottom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States