Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
The cake is delicious! However, I didn't give it 5 stars because I think the baking time is off. I baked it for 35 minutes, and it was really turning brown on top so I took it out. The middle didn't get done so it sank. I was afraid to continue baking it longer for fear of burning it. Still delicious though - hubby approved so that's what matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I am gluten intolerant so rewrote to use gluten free flour plus 2 tblsp of corn meal. Also use plain yogurt as I did not have any sour cream. It takes about 10 minutes longer in the oven. Even my non gluten free family requests this cake now more than any other!. Excellent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
my son's birthday is coming up and he asked me for a chocolate chip cake. i had a hard time finding a recipe and then i found yours.i just want to say thanks a lot. it's a great recipe. my son and the rest of the family aprove of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
:) I'd try this 4 thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This did require a longer baking time but it was beautifully tender and quite light for such a rich batter. i took off one star because i'd hoped for a stronger sour cream flavor but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This cake was very good, I baked it in a bundt pan. It was very moist and I used mini chocolate chips. I did not have the problem of the chips falling to the bottom like some other reviewers. I baked for just around 30 minutes and it was baked all the way through. Of course I forgot the vanilla because it is not listed in the instructions but caught myself right before it was too late. DON'T FORGET THE VANILLA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Because I was taking it to a block party, I doubled the recipe. I also baked it in a bundt pan since others mentioned having trouble with the middle not getting fully baked. Even in the bundt pan, the middle was slightly under-cooked, but was still edible. Following another reviewer's example, I sub'd half the white sugar for brown, to give it more of a cookie flavor. That worked! The cake was VERY yummy, moist and went over very well at the gathering. I absolutely will try this again in the bundt pan without doubling the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Really delicious when followed exactly to the letter. It was a tad sweet for me, I might add a touch of extra salt to the batter. I drizzled chocolate ganache over top ( but just a drizzle ) and the children adored it. I baked 35 minutes in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My cake turned out great, it was so moist and I added chocolate icing on top to make it even more heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
my hubby liked this cake but suggested next time I use mini chocolate chips and put in less. He doesn't really like chocolate. This cake was easy to make and turn out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States