Sour Cream Chocolate Chip Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
my son's birthday is coming up and he asked me for a chocolate chip cake. i had a hard time finding a recipe and then i found yours.i just want to say thanks a lot. it's a great recipe. my son and the rest of the family aprove of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
:) I'd try this 4 thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This did require a longer baking time but it was beautifully tender and quite light for such a rich batter. i took off one star because i'd hoped for a stronger sour cream flavor but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juniper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This cake was very good, I baked it in a bundt pan. It was very moist and I used mini chocolate chips. I did not have the problem of the chips falling to the bottom like some other reviewers. I baked for just around 30 minutes and it was baked all the way through. Of course I forgot the vanilla because it is not listed in the instructions but caught myself right before it was too late. DON'T FORGET THE VANILLA!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Because I was taking it to a block party, I doubled the recipe. I also baked it in a bundt pan since others mentioned having trouble with the middle not getting fully baked. Even in the bundt pan, the middle was slightly under-cooked, but was still edible. Following another reviewer's example, I sub'd half the white sugar for brown, to give it more of a cookie flavor. That worked! The cake was VERY yummy, moist and went over very well at the gathering. I absolutely will try this again in the bundt pan without doubling the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Really delicious when followed exactly to the letter. It was a tad sweet for me, I might add a touch of extra salt to the batter. I drizzled chocolate ganache over top ( but just a drizzle ) and the children adored it. I baked 35 minutes in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
My cake turned out great, it was so moist and I added chocolate icing on top to make it even more heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
my hubby liked this cake but suggested next time I use mini chocolate chips and put in less. He doesn't really like chocolate. This cake was easy to make and turn out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I was so excited about this recipe. I chose to make this into cupcakes, and they were not nearly as moist as I thought they would be. With the butter and sour cream, I was expecting a moist, flavorful cupcake. But they were rather dry and crumbly. Cupcakes usually don't last that long around here, but these were still here days after I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Easy and delicious! I made this recipe as cupcakes and they came out great, you gotta watch them in the oven, though! I have made them once with larger chocolate chips and again with mini chocolate chips...my husband begged me to make them again with the larger! This is for sure a keeper, not much more complicated than a betty crocker box mix and tastes fantastic! With this one under my belt I'm feeling ready to try the sour cream choco cake recipe, wish me luck ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States