Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Like all the other reviewers, I added a few of my own ingredients to this recipe. I layered the bottom of the dish with fresh broccoli pieces. I also mixed about 4 tablespoons of fresh pico de gallo style salsa in with the mixture (I used cream of mushroom). Then I spooned 1 more tablespoon of salsa on top of each breast before baking. The end result added a little more flavor than the original recipe. *I also used low fat ingredients (soup, cheese, sour cream) and still found it to be fantastic! A little thin, but thickens while standing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This was really good! I didnt have white wine, so I skipped it...And I used quite a bit of pepper before pouring on the gravy...will make again! Thx!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYMCKILLIP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tillamook, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pacific City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Kinda plain, but very simple to make and great for a quick dinner at home. Hubby liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I added 1 tea lemon juice, and 1/2 tea white pepper (for two servings) and it was very good! I will also half the white wine the next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I served this with lemon pepper and dill rice and everyone enjoyed it. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Pretty boring. I added some frozen veggies at the end and served it over brown rice. It was an easy meal, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a good base to a recipe. I made a few alterations. I seasoned the chicken breasts with salt and pepper and browned them in olive oil (2Tbs.) and butter (1 Tbs.). Then I removed the chicken from the (oven proof) pan. I deglazed the pan with the white wine and added 1/2 an onion diced. After the onions had a chance to cook thru I added a Tbs. garlic minced. Then I stired in 2 cups sliced mushrooms, the soup and the sour cream. I added some chicken stock to thin out the sauce. I added the chicken back in to the pan and topped it all with a cup grated parmesean cheese. I baked the chicken as directed but mine were done in 45 mins. (due to the size, and the browning). Served it all over egg noodles for me, and rice for my husband. Both were great. (I cooked the rice in wine and stock). A simple salad on the side and it was a very filling meal, with a lot of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Novi, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Tasted surprisingly good. I served it over the white minute rice. I also added about a Tbsp of crushed garlic, and salt n pepper. The cheese sounded good so I shredded some parm. and some asiago over the top and baked as it says. My 2 year old son loved it as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMOKINJOE531

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe. It made a great sauce for our rice. We did spice it up with some basil and thyme and it turned out wonderful. We would definitely try this again and agree that it's like a template for other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
If you make this just like the recipe states, to me it tastes like sour milk. I added a lot of the modifications people suggested in the comments - garlic, Italian seasonings, Parmesan cheese, cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. That helped some, but I still don't plan on making this recipe ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States