Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made this for 6 and did alot of tweaking to the recipe. I wound up doubling the wine, using 2 full cans of the soup, cutting up a can of artichoke hearts, adding garlic, shredded parmesan cheese (1/3 C?), scallions and seasoned the chicken first. I served it over pasta and had plenty of "gravy". Not bad, everyone ate it and some had seconds, but I feel like it's still missing something to make it WOW...but what?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4nomore!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I read thru reviews and tried the ideas, but we still didn't like this! The sauce had an odd flavor...maybe something I did?? Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Like others said, this is a good base recipe. I added garlic, s/p and one cup of white wine. The flavor was very good in the gravy. I made noodles to serve on the side with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
thank you.,I did very good:-) and very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I had no white wine on hand or apple juice (which is my usual substitute for white wine) so I got creative and mixed in pineapple juice. I think it added a bit of a tangy flavor but not very noticeable. All in all it was a recipe which made good leftovers. My boyfriend and I both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I used cream of mushroom. Served w/potatoes and green beans. This dish would have gone well with pasta or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Wow! This was great. I too altered the recipe. I had cream of chicken with herbs (and I added onion powder, garlic, oregano, pepper and a pinch of salt). I thought I had enough sour cream, but came up 1/2 cup short. I replaced with milk. It was delicious. However, I think that the entire amount of sour cream (as the recipe calls for) would be better! I will make this recipe again, and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Really enjoyed this meal. I changed the recipe a lot after reading other reviews. I chopped 2 large chicken breasts into large bite size pieces. I sauteed mushrooms and a small red onion in a little olive oil with 1 clove of crushed garlic then added the chicken and about 3 rashers of chopped smokey bacon. Once lightly cooked i placed these ingredients to one side in an oven dish i then deglazed the pan with white wine, reduced the wine then mixed together a can of batchelor's low fat condensed mushroom soup and about 2 large spoons of sour cream to a smooth consistency then whisked it into the wine brought it to high heat then pored the sauce over the chicken, mushroom, onion and bacon added lots of fresh ground pepper and baked it in the oven for about 30 to 40 minutes then served it over pasta. The sauce was lovely thick and creamy and the smokey bacon added a wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This is so good, definitely one of my favorite quick weeknight recipes when I'm craving comfort food! I use 98% fat free soup and fat free sour cream to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is a good base recipe to then add the seasoning/extras that you want. I added a heaping tsp of crushed garlic, 1 tblsp of locatelli cheese, and some pepper and it came out tasting great. I think next time I might try using 3/4 cup sour cream instead of one full cup. I used the low-fat cream of mushroom soup and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrie_cooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States