Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Did most of the 'tweaking' as suggested by others. This recipe is kind of like a template for you to build off of. I added a couple cloves of crushed garlic, s&p, Parm cheese, a dash of dried green onions, and used cream of mushroom soup(it's what I had). Loved the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
For a quick, easy meal this is excellent. I didn't think it would be as good as it was with the small list of ingredients! I added garlic and season salt and parmesean cheese on top. A winner with my family, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCSHELLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I had 1/2 container left-over store-bought spinach dip, was looking for a recipe to use it up, and found a winner with this one! I followed some of others' suggestions: Mixed 1/2 tsp. minced garlic with Healthy Reqst. cream of mushroom soup (instead of cream of chix) and put them in a blender with the white wine. Then I lightly sprinkled seasoned salt, poultry seasoning, and pepper on chix breasts (only used seasoned salt on one side vs. both sides) and tenderized the chix breasts with a Jaccard tenderizer (has 10 little knives in it). I poured a little of the soup mixture in the bottom of the casserole dish and sprinkled 1/4 cup diced onions on the soup. Then I placed the chix breasts in the dish, poured the remaining soup mixture on top, and sprinkled 1/4 cup diced onions on top. Baked it for 1/2 hr., took it out of the oven, spooned the spinach dip on top, and baked it for another 1/2 hr. It looked beautiful and tasted wonderful -- it's definitely a "company" dish! It IS a little soupy, but worked well with the linguine I served. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
I hate to bash the ideas of others, but I made this last night, and I found it to be really gross. I followed the recipe exactly, and it basically tasted like cream of chicken soup gone wrong. I couldn't finish eating it. I would not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMURKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
We all enjoyed this very well! I didn't have wine on hand, so I used New Castle beer and it was wonderful! I also took some suggestions i read and added 1/2 bag frozen spinach(thawed and drained), 3 tblsp Parm. cheese, 1 clove garlic, 2 tsp oregano and a little pepper. Couldn't have been better! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
easy to make. substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken. added pepper, garlic, basil and oregano. Cooked the recipe in the electric pressure cooker with 5 chicken breasts. I easily could have used 6 breasts. There was lots of sauce left over. I thickened it with a little with flour after removing the chicken. served it with rice, but would have went much better with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Perfect. So simple and with a few spices as suggested by other reviewers - Papirka, garlic powder & parmesan cheese. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
so simple and tastes great. I used cream of chicken w/herbs. I think maybe the sauce could be thinned a little (more wine?..lol)I also thought adding artichokes may taste good. Haven't tried that yet. Definitely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a great starter recipe but i added oregano, oregano, chives, black olives and corn. It turned out great1 I served it with penne pasta with grape tomatoes on the side. I also used low fat, low sodium cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Really enjoyed this meal. I changed the recipe a lot after reading other reviews. I chopped 2 large chicken breasts into large bite size pieces. I sauteed mushrooms and a small red onion in a little olive oil with 1 clove of crushed garlic then added the chicken and about 3 rashers of chopped smokey bacon. Once lightly cooked i placed these ingredients to one side in an oven dish i then deglazed the pan with white wine, reduced the wine then mixed together a can of batchelor's low fat condensed mushroom soup and about 2 large spoons of sour cream to a smooth consistency then whisked it into the wine brought it to high heat then pored the sauce over the chicken, mushroom, onion and bacon added lots of fresh ground pepper and baked it in the oven for about 30 to 40 minutes then served it over pasta. The sauce was lovely thick and creamy and the smokey bacon added a wonderful flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States