Sour Cream Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I followed this recipe with the advice of others, more flavoring, I added 1/2 chopped onion & rounded teaspoon of minced garlic, thawed chopped spinach, seasoned salt, pepper and paprika on top for color and a little spice. Well it was VERY bland. Very bland. The sauce was runny. If you make this I'd advise a hearty something for dessert. I served Grandmas carrot cake from this site, thankfully I had that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Really liked this. The wine flavor was a bit too present for me so might try half broth and half wine next time. Did add fresh garlic and a little salt and cracked pepper just for extra seasoning. The sauce was the perfect consistency; not too thick like gravy but not watery either. Excellent over rice ***** Sauce was even better two days later when we chopped up the left over chicken, added it along with some frozen peas to the sauce, reheated and served over rice. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
very good and very "kid friendly"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Bland and runny sauce. Could salvage the recipe by adding salt/pepper, garlic salt, mrs dash. Easy to make but nobody wanted to eat it! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I hate when someone rates a recipe and then makes incredible changes to it, but most every reviewer made changes so I will also. Fantastic! ...Except I made some major changes...on a recipe with three ingredients. Here goes: No wine whatsoever; cream of mushroom; garlic powder, black pepper, and oregano. Holy , it was delicious! There was LOTS of extra sauce. That sauce was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Primo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Yum! A great way to use up leftover sour cream. I used Low-fat Cream of Mushroom instead of Cream of Chicken. I liked it as is but it would be great with some garlic, green onion, etc. as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Flavorful and easy. All I look for in a recipe. I've served this several times to house guests and always get high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was a great starter recipe but i added oregano, oregano, chives, black olives and corn. It turned out great1 I served it with penne pasta with grape tomatoes on the side. I also used low fat, low sodium cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I built off of all the suggestions in the reviews and we really liked this recipe. My main problem was my husband was late and I let the chicken overcook! I added garlic, onion, basil and s&p. The main thing to remember with this dish is: If you don't like the wine you use, you're not going to like the dish. I use white zinfendel. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Excellent recipe, although next time I will use a dry white wine instead of a semi-sweet. I followed the advice of some of the other comments- I added garlic, a little oregano, and I used cream of mushroom instead of chicken, and it came out pretty tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain

Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States