Sour Cream Chicken Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was my first quiche. I used leftover turkey instead of chicken, and used a combination of shredded taco cheese and laughing cow cheese wedges, because that's what I had. I omitted the nutmeg and added an extra egg, and then mixed everything together instead of layering it. It came out just how I wanted it to! Will definitely make again, and probably make my own variations. EDIT -- Made it again with leftover turkey this year, my boyfriend had me make it twice, he loves it so much! I keep using different cheeses, and it's still turned out great. His complaint is that it's not eggy enough, so I've been adding a couple more. But I love how well it comes out each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This recipe has become a staple for me. I was totally new to making quiche and this recipe was easy to follow and delicious. I now get creative and modify it for many different meals. My husband and friends LOVE it and you will too, the nutmeg definitely adds another dimension to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesignME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipe is delicious, but the egg/sour cream/milk portion needs to be AT LEAST doubled in order to make a substantial quiche! Mine was way too thin to be called a quiche. Also, taste the chicken mixture before adding more salt--I added more salt based on other reviews and the quiche ended up too salty for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Domo7
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Very yummy and the sour cream gives it a great texture. I added bacon bits and lotsa cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domo7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Yummy! The whole family loved it. I made some changes per other comments. I left out the nutmeg and cooked it at 400 degrees for 50-55 minutes. Came out perfect! I also added a little garlic before I popped it in the oven. This will be a regular at our house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I was having trouble deciding whether to make my standard quiche lorraine or to try this recipe. After reading the reviews and learning that this recipe needed more salt, I thought i would try combining the two recipes. I used this recipe (minus the nutmeg) and added crumbled bacon. Used the bacon grease instead of olive oil and used more cheese. I didn't use a crust (I always make quiche crustless) and served with a tossed salad and buttermilk buscuits. Got rave reviews. This may become my new standard quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Yummy! I was a little nervous about the nutmeg, so I left it out also. I agree with another reviewer that this is really good the next day. I added shredded cheese, heated it up just a little, and topped it with sour cream. It made a delicious lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paynes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I love how easy this dish is. If you have leftover chicken then it really is super fast & easy. It had a really good flavor from the sour cream. The only change I made was to substitute fresh minced garlic (which I sauted with the peppers & onions) for the nutmeg. I just didn't think nutmeg would go well in a quiche. It was a nice change from traditional quiche and made for a great weeknight dinner. I paired it with a green salad and my whole family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Good! Tasty and it helped clean out the fridge. I used one cup diced ham instead of chicken and omitted the salt since ham has enough. Skipped the nutmeg as per other reviews. Used 1 cup mexican cheese blend instead of cheddar & swiss and added 1 large chopped tomato. Oh! And I did not layer the egg mixture on top but rather mixed it together with all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Love, Love, LOVED it! I doubled the recipe so we'd have some leftovers & am so glad that I did. My entire family thought this was divine. I used a rotisserie chicken from my local deli & doubled the salt like someone else suggested. It was perfect. My small family of 3 ended up eating this for every meal & managed to eat both pies in 2 days. My son is already asking that I make it again. This one is a keeper for sure! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States