Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
made this for years and we still love it!!! This is comfort food in my home - better served with rice than buttered egg noodles we think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe pretty much as directed, but from reading other reviews, did add extra paprika. All in all, it was just an okay recipe. I had a Chicken Paprika recipe years ago, that would nearly set your mouth on fire...it was amazing. Sadly this did not come close to what I was looking for, but it is good for those with a mild taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I saw all of the good reviews and was highly disapointed. Bland Bland Bland. A little experimentation yields much better results. First, don't use a non-stick pan. Make sure you have all that residue in the pan from the browning and use 1/4 of white wine to deglaze. Second, Use Smoked Hungarian Paprika, not the typical supermarket fare. This dish will only be as good as the paprika used. Once you have a good paprika, use twice as much as called for. Also add 1/2 teaspoon each of Black and Hot Pepper of choice. Finally, mix 1 cup of flour and 2 cups of chicken stock before adding to the pan. I mix them is a sports bottle making sure the flower is well dissolved. This makes for a thick and consistant sauce. BTW, my favorate source for the paprika is Auntie Arwen. Google it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
my family is hungarian, we make this dish all the time, however we never use chicken stock. I suggest leaving it out completely, and also adding chopped tomato or tomato past
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a good basic recipe almost identical to ones I found in my Hungarian cookbooks. . If you want a thick gravy, stir a couple of Tbps. flour into sour cream before adding to the broth. Chicken paprika (paprikash) is a bland dish meant to be served over boiled spaetzles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Guntersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Okay flavor, but the sauce was not creamy like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used HUNGARIAN paprika and it became a 5-star. My husband and son loved it and asked me to make it again. Yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great little recipe. I'm glad I read the reviews before I attempted this for the first time. I did most of it like it said, but only added a homemade version of Emeril's Essence to the butter/onion saute, just 1 cup of homemade chicken stock and a lil (less than 1/4 cup of) cooking sherry. Didn't need much else because the Essence took care of it all. I also sauteed the chicken with Lawry's garlic salt and used penne instead of the egg noodles. I can see how it would be an egg noodle dish because it somewhat resembles a beef stroganoff. Don't worry about overseasoning before adding the sour cream as it tends to bland things down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
THis was very similar to a stroganoff recipe. It was good but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this dish. It was so easy to make and so tasty! I don't get why everyone said it was bland...it was lovely! I used a little bit less chicken stock than the recipe calls for just to make sure it wasn't too watery but I ended up adding it all in anyway. It was great over wholemeal penne pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States