Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Loved the flavor of this dish! I added mushrooms, garlic and used cornstarch instead of flour for thickening. Served over angel hair pasta. My husband and kiddies gobbled it up! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Eh. 'S'alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I thought it was kinda bland, but my husband absolutely loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
My Husband says, "Um! Um! Um!" Chicken was very tender (I removed the chicken to oven and finished at 225 degrees while I made sauce, bowtie pasta and peas.) I am new to Paprika and expected more from this spice. Thickened sauce with cornstarch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is rich, easy to make and tasty. I ate this over brown rice. It makes for a fantastic meal. I also added peas because I love peas. It would have been good without them too...but I LOVE peas with my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cle0fus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This dish grew on me, and I ultimately liked it quite a bit. It gets points because I don't like sour cream very much at all, but this recipe actually made it tasty to me. I generally made it exactly as written, opting to cut the chicken breasts into bite-size chunks. The recipe didn't say whether to empty the pan between steps 1 and 2, so when I cooked the onion in butter, there was also the remaining oil and chicken juices from step 1. It quickly became apparent, though, that the sauce was pretty liquid, and I probably simmered it another 30 minutes or so until it was even slightly thickened. I quickly made a batch of boiled long-grain white rice to serve this on, to soak up the sauce, and that worked well. A little surprisingly, the leftovers kept well in my fridge, and reheated well - the sauce was the desired thickness when I took it out of the fridge the second night. In fact, I enjoyed the leftovers even more than when the dish was hot on the stove. This might be even better served over egg noodles, but I think serving it on a bed of white rice worked wonderfully. I may even make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I love this recipe--and my VERY PICKY BOYS love it, too. It MUST be made with full-fat (regular) sour cream (not low-fat) or it just won't taste good (I tried it both ways and there is a HUGE difference). If your kids are picky onion eaters, you can chop them long and take out when serving, Once your kids get used to the taste, you can chop the onions small again. I usually use 1.5 cubes of organic stock in 2 cups of boiled water...I am also very generous with my 2T of paprika and with the flour in the sour cream. I think I make this dish every 10 days or so, and we love it over plain white rice :) Thanks DEME for the great recipe! It's now a part of our family meals :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I'm really just a noobie cook so I get really excited when something new sparkles on my tongue. Or more specifically - in that special zone way in the back of my tongue where the flavor buds seem to jump for joy. This was particularly delicious - I think I was lucky and just got it right the first time.. and it gave me the chance to dip back into my (frozen) chicken stock. I added mushrooms and about a third cup of white wine, cutting back on the stock. Also thickened with a little more than 2 tablespoons of flour. Over penne. My lovely wife said this was about her very favorite of many recent recipes, and I have to agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Not what I expected. I used the right amount of paprika but it came out looking very red.nothing like the picture. Also I had to use extra flour because the sauce wasn't getting thick. I did use some crushed red pepper and a little tomato paste. It taste ok but not good enough for me to cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We would give it 3 1/2 stars. I think the chicken itself was a bit bland; it didn't absorb a lot of the flavor from the sauce. The sauce was very good. Perhaps shredding the chicken would be better. This time I cubed it. I also sauteed 5 cloves of garlic before adding onion (2 cups), celery, and carrots. I put a pinch of black pepper and cayenne pepper in with the paprika. I used only 1 cup of chicken broth. I actually thought it may not have been quite enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States