Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I tried this recipe and recommend several revisions: 1) use red onions (2) 2) use hot Hungarian paprika (3 tablespoons or more) 3) use more flour (1-2 tablespoons) Add more chicken broth if sauce too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
For anyone who thinks this recipe is bland or that something is 'missing', make sure you use Hungarian paprika. It has a rich and sweeter flavor than Spanish paprika, and in my opinion really makes the difference in this dish. Also, whisk the sour cream in a little at a time, it mixes better and won't curdle that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I altered in to include what I had in my kitchen and to give it more kick. I used cream cheese for half of the sour cream, and added kidney beans, celery, chili pepper, and bell pepper when I added the chicken. I also added half a can of spicy slasa at the very end. The result was amazing! Throw some extra veggies and spice in and you are all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
After reading through previous reviews, I was prepared for blandness so I made a few modifications. I used diced chicken seasoned with one teaspoon kosher salt, half a teaspoon black pepper, and three teaspoonfuls Mexican paprika (sweet paprika would work with a dash of cayenne). I also used one and a half medium onions and one large clove of garlic. I added a can of petite diced tomatoes (with the juice) with the sour cream instead of using chicken broth and thickened the sauce with a tablespoonful of cornstarch. My family agreed that it came out quite good; definitely something I'd make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Bland as written. Be sure to add spices and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years. Those that are having trouble....here's some helpful advice.....----> You need to let the chicken cook down a bit and let the broth decrease before adding the sour cream/flour mixture. You also have to constantly stir the sour cream/flour mixture to help in the thickening process. If you want more zing....add more paprika. I use three tablespoons. My family loves this. Pour it over rice. I think it's better than over noodles. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great recipe wish it had the Hungarian nudli with it. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved this, although I took the suggestion of others and added garlic and half a pinch of cayenne pepper and because I can't eat anything without cracked pepper a couple of twists. I also added 1/2 red capsicum with the onions and garlic to give it a bit of colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a delicious dish!!! I used 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock instead of 2 cups. Also added a little extra flour to the sour cream to thicken up the sauce a little more. If you want this dish to have extra flavor I highly recommend using Hungarian Paprika. Hint: German Spaetzle (dumplings) for a side instead of noodles or rice is an amazing change you might want to consider when making this dish. :-) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Even using more flour than the recipe called for, the sauce didn't thicken to my satisfaction. I did add some whipping cream, black pepper, red pepper flake & organic salt free seasoning for some extra flavor...I will be making this again. Don't be afraid to adjust, it's a fairly forgiving recipe...just not very thick & creamy. I will give this more stars when I can get it thicker and as zesty as I'd like...I'll also add my any alterations I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States