Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
made this for years and we still love it!!! This is comfort food in my home - better served with rice than buttered egg noodles we think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe pretty much as directed, but from reading other reviews, did add extra paprika. All in all, it was just an okay recipe. I had a Chicken Paprika recipe years ago, that would nearly set your mouth on fire...it was amazing. Sadly this did not come close to what I was looking for, but it is good for those with a mild taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I saw all of the good reviews and was highly disapointed. Bland Bland Bland. A little experimentation yields much better results. First, don't use a non-stick pan. Make sure you have all that residue in the pan from the browning and use 1/4 of white wine to deglaze. Second, Use Smoked Hungarian Paprika, not the typical supermarket fare. This dish will only be as good as the paprika used. Once you have a good paprika, use twice as much as called for. Also add 1/2 teaspoon each of Black and Hot Pepper of choice. Finally, mix 1 cup of flour and 2 cups of chicken stock before adding to the pan. I mix them is a sports bottle making sure the flower is well dissolved. This makes for a thick and consistant sauce. BTW, my favorate source for the paprika is Auntie Arwen. Google it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
my family is hungarian, we make this dish all the time, however we never use chicken stock. I suggest leaving it out completely, and also adding chopped tomato or tomato past
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a good basic recipe almost identical to ones I found in my Hungarian cookbooks. . If you want a thick gravy, stir a couple of Tbps. flour into sour cream before adding to the broth. Chicken paprika (paprikash) is a bland dish meant to be served over boiled spaetzles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Guntersville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Okay flavor, but the sauce was not creamy like I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used HUNGARIAN paprika and it became a 5-star. My husband and son loved it and asked me to make it again. Yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great little recipe. I'm glad I read the reviews before I attempted this for the first time. I did most of it like it said, but only added a homemade version of Emeril's Essence to the butter/onion saute, just 1 cup of homemade chicken stock and a lil (less than 1/4 cup of) cooking sherry. Didn't need much else because the Essence took care of it all. I also sauteed the chicken with Lawry's garlic salt and used penne instead of the egg noodles. I can see how it would be an egg noodle dish because it somewhat resembles a beef stroganoff. Don't worry about overseasoning before adding the sour cream as it tends to bland things down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
THis was very similar to a stroganoff recipe. It was good but not quite what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this dish. It was so easy to make and so tasty! I don't get why everyone said it was bland...it was lovely! I used a little bit less chicken stock than the recipe calls for just to make sure it wasn't too watery but I ended up adding it all in anyway. It was great over wholemeal penne pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States