Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Bland as written. Be sure to add spices and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years. Those that are having trouble....here's some helpful advice.....----> You need to let the chicken cook down a bit and let the broth decrease before adding the sour cream/flour mixture. You also have to constantly stir the sour cream/flour mixture to help in the thickening process. If you want more zing....add more paprika. I use three tablespoons. My family loves this. Pour it over rice. I think it's better than over noodles. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great recipe wish it had the Hungarian nudli with it. I served it with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Loved this, although I took the suggestion of others and added garlic and half a pinch of cayenne pepper and because I can't eat anything without cracked pepper a couple of twists. I also added 1/2 red capsicum with the onions and garlic to give it a bit of colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is a delicious dish!!! I used 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock instead of 2 cups. Also added a little extra flour to the sour cream to thicken up the sauce a little more. If you want this dish to have extra flavor I highly recommend using Hungarian Paprika. Hint: German Spaetzle (dumplings) for a side instead of noodles or rice is an amazing change you might want to consider when making this dish. :-) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Even using more flour than the recipe called for, the sauce didn't thicken to my satisfaction. I did add some whipping cream, black pepper, red pepper flake & organic salt free seasoning for some extra flavor...I will be making this again. Don't be afraid to adjust, it's a fairly forgiving recipe...just not very thick & creamy. I will give this more stars when I can get it thicker and as zesty as I'd like...I'll also add my any alterations I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This was very "comfort food" good. For those who are adding "a little zip" via various ingredients, what you're looking for is a flavor enhancer. Most added ingredients mentioned contained MSG. I used Johnny's Seasoning. It works like a charm and brings the flavor to a different level. I think added salt would do the same thing to some degree if you can't eat MSG. I also sauted sliced fresh mushrooms slowly in butter to a light golden brown to maximize flavor and added to the cooked onions. Followed the recipe from there. I did increase the flour to 1 TBS instead of 1 tsp. I'll be making this again Friday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
We love this paprikash recipe, including our 3 yr old. We chop the chicken into bite sized chunks and to give it a bit more Hungarian flavour we dice a hot yellow banana pepper and toss it in with the chicken while it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I made changes that were suggested by other reviewers - added garlic & mushrooms. Added 1/4 cup of white wine, and just 1 1/2 cups broth. Otherwise, made as recipe says. It was way too much paprika. Next time, if there is a next time, I'll cut it in half. Served over egg noodles. Just enough sauce, but just too spicey (spice, not hot) for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Hearty creamy goodness. We have made this twice and the second time was much, MUCH better than the first. I added a little bit more flour the second time and it thickened up very nice. This will become one of our go to dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States