Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
To make this recipe 5 stars start by dredging the chicken (I use a whole cut up chicken) in a flour, paprika, salt, and pepper mixture. Saute one large chopped onion in 2 sticks of butter until translucent. Remove onions from pan and set aside. Cook the chicken thoroughly in the butter, then remove from pan. Throw the onions and sour cream back in the pan and stir together, (add more salt and paprika for flavor if necessary) and thin with either white wine, milk or chicken broth. Place the chicken back in the sauce, heat, then serve over noodles or mashed potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I think I messed this one up. I added too much lemon juice to the chicken. The sauce was very good though..and tasted even better the next day. I had added Marsala wine to sauce, gave it a nice flavor. If you chooses to add lemon juice, use only a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
It was straightforward, simple, and quick, which are all things I prize in a mid-week meal. My boyfriend did the majority of the cooking for this one and added some Dill for a bit more tartness, it enhanced the tartness of the sour cream nicely. He also threw in another half a teaspoon of paprika. We only used a cup of broth, which was plenty as it still took a fairly long time for the sauce to reduce. The end result however was pleasing and tasty with rice. I'm pretty sure we'll make this again before long, it's just so simple and flexible, you could really use any spice, it doesn't have to be paprika at all, it could have been cumin or even a curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
A good recipe but somewhat lacking a little something extra. It is very similar to a chicken goulash. I topped mine with fresh spring onions and tomatoes and that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksjuzunk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I admit I had to cheat some. I used what I had in the house. I used beef broth instead of chicken and dried onion flakes instead of regular onions. Still turned out great. Next time we will serve over white rice because the sauce was soooooo good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is an awesome dish. Don't believe the negativity in some of these reviews. I made mashed potatoes on the side, which went perfectly with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This turned out really well! But, I did take a few recommendations from other reviewers and decreased the chicken stock to a little under 1 cup. As for the prep and cooking, I did doctor it a bit to keep the flavor in the chicken as well as the sauce. First, I marinated big chunks of chicken breast with half the paprika, salt, pepper, and a bit of oregano. I let that sit for a few hours. I cooked the onion in butter first, set it aside, cooked the chicken, set it aside. I cooked the sauce by itself and added some garlic salt and the rest of the paprika. Once it thickened a bit, I put the onions and chicken back in and in about 2 mins, it was done. Perfect over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used a can of chicken broth instead of the chicken stock. I also added about 1/2 cup extra sour cream and a little more flour. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I echo the other reviewer who said to use Hungarian paprika. It's essential to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is perfectly fine except it has a bit too much liquid. The problem is that people must be using the wrong kind of paprika! If you use the sweet bland kind, then of course it will be a bland, boring dish. This is a traditional Hungarian dish - use Hungarian hot paprika and it will be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taneytown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States