Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
A good recipe but somewhat lacking a little something extra. It is very similar to a chicken goulash. I topped mine with fresh spring onions and tomatoes and that was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicksjuzunk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I admit I had to cheat some. I used what I had in the house. I used beef broth instead of chicken and dried onion flakes instead of regular onions. Still turned out great. Next time we will serve over white rice because the sauce was soooooo good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is an awesome dish. Don't believe the negativity in some of these reviews. I made mashed potatoes on the side, which went perfectly with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This turned out really well! But, I did take a few recommendations from other reviewers and decreased the chicken stock to a little under 1 cup. As for the prep and cooking, I did doctor it a bit to keep the flavor in the chicken as well as the sauce. First, I marinated big chunks of chicken breast with half the paprika, salt, pepper, and a bit of oregano. I let that sit for a few hours. I cooked the onion in butter first, set it aside, cooked the chicken, set it aside. I cooked the sauce by itself and added some garlic salt and the rest of the paprika. Once it thickened a bit, I put the onions and chicken back in and in about 2 mins, it was done. Perfect over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I used a can of chicken broth instead of the chicken stock. I also added about 1/2 cup extra sour cream and a little more flour. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I echo the other reviewer who said to use Hungarian paprika. It's essential to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is perfectly fine except it has a bit too much liquid. The problem is that people must be using the wrong kind of paprika! If you use the sweet bland kind, then of course it will be a bland, boring dish. This is a traditional Hungarian dish - use Hungarian hot paprika and it will be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taneytown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I am Hungarian and this is my family's favourite meal to eat. The original name for the meal is Chocken Paprikash (Csirke Papriks in Hungarian).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J_Radics

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a great crowd pleaser: simple to make, fantastic flavor. I've made it many times -- and insisted that others make it! Over time I have modified it slightly: I slice the onions into half-moons, and I add the flour to the onions (to cook off the raw flour taste) before seasoning with the paprika, etc. You can leave it simmering after the addition of the stock if you need to delay the serving time. I serve it over egg noodles, but rice also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this is actually quite a good base recipe--the directions need a lot of altering though. there is too little flour called for, and too much paprika. after sauteeing the onions in butter (i used 1 Tbsp), add 1 Tbsp. of paprika, cook for a minute, then add 1 Tbsp flour and cook, stirring, for another minute or two. stir in 1 cup of chick broth, let cook down until it starts to thicken then stir in the other cup of broth, add the chicken back into the sauce, and simmer over low heat until sauce is thickened. whisk in sour cream and you're done. delicious over brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States