Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This recipe is perfectly fine except it has a bit too much liquid. The problem is that people must be using the wrong kind of paprika! If you use the sweet bland kind, then of course it will be a bland, boring dish. This is a traditional Hungarian dish - use Hungarian hot paprika and it will be wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taneytown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I am Hungarian and this is my family's favourite meal to eat. The original name for the meal is Chocken Paprikash (Csirke Papriks in Hungarian).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J_Radics

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a great crowd pleaser: simple to make, fantastic flavor. I've made it many times -- and insisted that others make it! Over time I have modified it slightly: I slice the onions into half-moons, and I add the flour to the onions (to cook off the raw flour taste) before seasoning with the paprika, etc. You can leave it simmering after the addition of the stock if you need to delay the serving time. I serve it over egg noodles, but rice also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
this is actually quite a good base recipe--the directions need a lot of altering though. there is too little flour called for, and too much paprika. after sauteeing the onions in butter (i used 1 Tbsp), add 1 Tbsp. of paprika, cook for a minute, then add 1 Tbsp flour and cook, stirring, for another minute or two. stir in 1 cup of chick broth, let cook down until it starts to thicken then stir in the other cup of broth, add the chicken back into the sauce, and simmer over low heat until sauce is thickened. whisk in sour cream and you're done. delicious over brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I found that the recipe called for way too much chicken stock. The result came out too watery and the sauce never thickened, even after adding more thickening. I fixed it by adding in fettuccine pasta into the entire mixture. With a little more chicken breast, it was alright but I don't think I will ever make this again. Also, there is too much paprika. If you love paprika, this is your dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I have a 100 yr old Hungarian friend who told me how to make this dish. Actually you should use a whole chicken cut up, but to save time and fat I use chicken breasts and canned broth. Use 1 can, 14 oz. add 1 lg chopped tomato and 1 chopped green bell pepper. Dont stir in sour cream until just before serving. Use Hungarian sweet paprika add a little hot paprika for kick if you like. Really good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was terrible. I had such high hopes for it because it sounded similar to a dish I had in Italy this year that I loved and I was excited to try it. There were so many problems: The sauce did not thicken, it was very bland, the taste of paprika was much too dominant, it was bitter, and it wasn't appealing to the eye (it looked like can dog food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This recipe NEEDS SOMETHING! I'm not a great cook, so I can't tell you what it's missing, but this is so bland that nobody wanted seconds, or even to finish their first plate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
As others have stated it was quite runny. I would half the chicken broth to fix the problem. The taste was kind of like a plain stroganof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson Martin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This is a delicious, easy meal and I made it easier by cooking my onions and butter in the microwave while cooking the chicken. I also only used only 1 cup of broth and mine came out a perfect consistency. Fast easy meal you can feel comfortable serving company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States