Sour Cream Chicken Paprika Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this the 1st time just as directed here. It was very good indeed. The 2nd time, (last night) I used B-S chicken thighs (each cut in half) and everybody seemed to like that better. (I say, mix up the dark and light meat) Also because there was about 1/2 cup of flat champagne in the fridge, I marinaded the thighs in that with some garlic and leafy spices (Y'know....parsley, basil, oregano... that kind of stuff. Use your faves. Might add some cumin next time) for about 45 minutes before browning. I used the left over marinade as part of the stock. I also added about 1/4 Teasp red pepper flakes. (Paprika doesn't seem to have the oomph it used to.) As has been suggested, mushrooms sound like a good addition too... will do that next time. I had a guest who didn't want dairy in his. So I separated a portion of chicken, and before I added the sour cream, I reserved some of the sauce sans sour cream and put it in its own little skillet. I used a little four to thicken it after bringing it to a boil. I did the "take some liquid from the pan, put it in a small jar with some flour (or corn starch), put the lid on and shake it good" thing then stirred it into boiling liquid in the little skillet. Then I just put the reserved chicken in the little skillet with that sauce sans s-c (more of a glaze now) and heated it all through like you would with the sour cream sauce. It was yummy. So, if you don't do dairy, you can still do this without it and it's very yummy....tho' different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gray Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rainbowsnbutterflies
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Always one of my favorites to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I just added button mushrooms & served over sour cream mashed potatoes. It was really good. It's even better the next day after the flavors have some time to marry. I'll make it early next time & leave in my crock-pot on low/warm during the day. Good, comforting dish. My family thinks it's a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Keaggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
My husband and I absolutely love this recipe. He now wants to put this sauce on overturning. Sauce is also very good cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra Spencer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I added a little lemon juice for kick and a little more flour to thicken also used about half of red bell pepper (chopped) And only used about half the chicken broth as we like the sauce creamier. Was absolutely delish. My picky husband and 3 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
We love this dish, I got this recipe from a friend. One time when she made it she didn't have smoked paprika, so she used some smoked salt in it. It was amazing! She also uses split chicken breasts, poaches them in the liquid and the meat just falls off the bone. It is a fav at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love this excellent recipe the only thing was I added 2 Tbls of curry and a little garlic to add a little extra flavor and put chives on top to garnish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This will be a favorite in my family. It was easy and extremely tasty. I did follow the recipe and added some portabello mushrooms - yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! I cut the chicken broth in half and added dried hot pepper flakes. It was really good on a bed of chef john's spanish rice! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieliseCanada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Followed directions exactly. The sauce was to runny. I think 2 cups of the stock was to much. However, The overall flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States