Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I have made this a couple of times now and think it is wonderful. I do have quickie version that developed from this recipe. I hope this will help someone in a bind or in a hurry. First I shred chicken from a rotisserie chicken. Then for the filling I take salsa and strain out all the liquid and add the “dry salsa” to the chicken> I probably strain a cup to a cup and half. I also chop half of an onion and add that in. Then for the sauce I prefer just mixing the sour cream and jalapeno salsa. Spoon the chicken mixture into flour tortillas. Pour a little sauce into the pan then your enchiladas and the rest of the sauce on top and lots of Mexican blend cheese. This is my quick and easy version of this recipe! It tastes so, so good. I garnish with shredded lettuce, fresh tomatoes, and guacamole. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
The green salsa I used was HOT, but my boyfriend who is of Mexican decent said he thought the dish was better than his grandmother's enchilladas made with red salsa. "5 STARS!!! and this is the food of my people, so I should know!" (His grandmother is from Mexico and makes corn tortillas by hand, so I used corn tortillas rather than flour, to try to get closer to a true flavor of his childhood comfort food.) ...One *recommendation*: if you have two fat-trimmed chicken breasts (on bone or deboned, whichever) you can put them in a sauce pot with 2 cups chicken broth, a crushed clove of garlic, 1/4 of an onion and 2 tsp salt. Bring to boil, then simmer 20-35 mins (longer for large bone-in). Discard onion and garlic, reserve flavorful broth for something else, set chicken aside to cool. When cool enough, the chicken will pull apart easily and it's a great way of quickly preparing flavorful, very moist chicken that doesn't dry out. ... ASLO, WARNING - before you dump a jar of salsa in with your sour cream and cilantro, give it a taste. Salsa can be "off", as in sour/bad - even if it's been in an air-tight jar (this has happened to me), or the brand/heat level may not be to your liking. The flavor of the salsa will determine whether you like this recipe or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Want to know how to make the tortillas not get "mushy"? Fry them for about 1 minute in oil~corn or canola. It adds a little fat but it stops the mushy problem. I used to make all enchiladas as this recipe states (no frying tortillas) and couldn't figure out why they were always mushy. Even corn tortillas have a better texture when fried for a minute ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I love this recipe! I have made it so many ways, depending on what I have on hand (or can find at my small, rural grocery store). I through the entire bunch of cilantro into the blender for the best flavor (stems and all), and have used green enchilada sauce, green salsa, and jalapeno salsa for all 28 ounces of the salsa. I have found that the flavor is a bit different, but always good no matter what I use. I have also used mozarella cheese, monteray jack, or cheddar, and it tastes good with each! To SHRED THE CHICKEN, boil a few breasts in water with some salt, pepper, and garlic powder (or plain is fine too) for about 20 minutes if thawed, longer if frozen, and use either 2 forks or fingers to shred it up. You can just cut up a chicken and use chunks, too. We love this recipe, and the kids like it too, as long as I keep my green salsa mild. Have fun! You can do lots with this recipe and it still tastes good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe for enchiladas, and I would definitely make it again. The only change I made was to use Herdez brand salsa Mexicana in place of the jalapeno salsa, and it still provided plenty of heat. The sauce is definitely what makes this dish, I even kept a little aside to use as a dip with tortilla chips. My (and husband's) only complaint is that the onion in the filling was still crunchy after baking, so I'd leave that out or maybe use green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We ate these three meals in a row and I don't even like leftovers! We used whole wheat tortillas and low fat sour cream to health 'em up a little. Skipped the jalepeno salsa since the salsa verde we used was already spicy. Also used 1/2 the amount of cheese and they were still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie3000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I have used both corn and flour tortillas in this recipe and loved them both !!! this recipe has gotten me a few marriage proposals and job offers ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I rarely give anything a five star but overall this was fabulous. It was so hearty and delicious. I let my boyfriend have some and he loved it and asked to take some left overs with him. (which he rarely does) This one is a keeper. I love cilantro so the cilantro cream sauce was awesome. I will make this again. For a complete meal goes excellent with Spanish Flan for dessert on this Web site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Wow! This was really super. The whole family just loved it. It really had so much flavor. I did cook the chicken with garlic in chicken stock with the onions so they were soft. Already added it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephenie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2001
These were great. I will definitely prepare them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States