Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a winner!I used chicken thighs, instead of breasts, as I think thighs are moister(that fat content) and don't dry out when baking. I fried the thighs in olive oil with cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper and set to cool before shredding. (I used the pan drippings to fry the rice for my Mexican Rice.) The jalapeno salsa I got turned out to be a red sauce, so think I will make my own next time. It is a bit on the spicy side, but nobody felt it was too spicy - might be for kids, though. The flour tortillas were kind of glue-like, but everyone thought it was OK. I think maybe heating the pan and bottom liquid in the dish before placing the enchiladas might mitigate that, though. Will try next time. This was a huge hit with my dinner guests and one I will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patsy0701

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Wow! This is great food! I never rate just don't make the time but this was special. Thank you, Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really like this recipe! Sour cream and fresh cilantro are yummy. Also, has just the right amount of jalapeño heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was a good recipe but next time, I am going to cook the chicken differently; came out a bit tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
the flavor is too tangy (tastes like a mixture of sour cream, green salsa, and cilantro, baked), the flavor lacks any complexity; the texture is gooey - the tortillas come out mushy; and my tortillas stuck to the glass baking dish so when I tried to get one out, it was just a soupy mess on my plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I haven't tried these yet but they are on my list to make this week. I just wanted to let some who have rated this and said they couldn't find jalapeno salsa. Taco Bell is now selling there verde salsa in a big jar. it has jalapenos and green chili in it so you can kill 2 birds with one stone:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arileyj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
These are absolutely delicious and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
My family loved these enchiladas and they were so easy to make and the taste was superb!! The only thing i did differently was i used canned chicken. I will definitely make this over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
A little soggy with the tortillas but I secretly like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICGOLDFISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Delicious! My husband, daughter and I loved it, while my teenager wouldn't eat it- but this is a child who is not adventurous when it comes to food. After reviewing others comments, I did make some changes. In order to ensure my daughter would eat it, I had to remove the heat-instead of jalapeno and green chille salsas, I used a corn & black bean salsa and a can of green chille sauce (which I also added chopped green chilles to), respectively. Like many others, I also sauteed my onions with a drop of olive oil and fresh garlic. After reading so many comments on the over abundance of cilantro, and due to the fact I was using fresh cilantro from my garden, I looked online to find exactly what a bunch is considered to be- loose leaves should equal 1 1/2 cups, so I scaled back to 1 cup. Also when I made the chicken mixture,I used 3 chicken breasts, added 1 drained can of black beans, about a cup of salsa and about 1/2 can of chopped tomatoes. Many people complained that flour tortillas were too gummy and fell apart, but I was unable to find corn tortillas - instead I used 7 burrito size tortillas and waited about 15 min before serving....no gummy mess, no falling apart. Leftovers for lunch were also a hit. Will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 470) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States