Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Used whatever I had on hand such as corn tortilla, green chile enchilada (1 cup only in chicken mix), & no cilantro. With the onions, I had sautéed until soft. To have the most optimal flavor, my chicken was seasoned well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Too much pepper flavor hid the other flavors. If I make it again, I will likely not mix much pepper salsa in the sour cream, or use some tomato based salsa too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eilene Edwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this dish last night with a few minor tweaks and it came out great! First of all imo a flour tortilla is for tacos/burritos NOT enchiladas so I used 12 corn tortillas instead. I very lightly fried these in canola oil on both sides and then set aside so they could cool while I worked on the sauce and chicken. For the sauce I used light sour cream, a 16 oz bottle of green salsa (with tomatillos and jalapenos), 1/2 of an onion, and since I couldn't find green chile salsa I picked up a can of diced green chiles and put 2 tsp in the blender. I also don't use cilantro regularly enough to get fresh cilantro so I subbed in 1/2 tsp dried cilantro. After blending the sauce I tasted the mixture and it had a nice kick. I'd add the green chiles to taste, if I had added anymore I would have had to mellow it out. The chicken I seasoned simply with cumino, garlic powder and salt and pepper. I sauted the breasts and shredded them afterwards. I'm not a fan of onions and I felt the sauce had enough of a kick on its own so I didn't add either to the chicken. I did add a bit of cheese as I rolled them up. The rest I followed as written. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was not for me. Tortillas were mushy and I was not liking the sour cream sauce. It was very heavy and recipe makes an overwhelming amount. The traditional red sauce is more my speed. However, my son and hubby loved it. Had lots of heat from the jalapeño salsa. Also 8oz of cheese is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamela
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Made this for my family last night. They absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MADDIEJON
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Excellent! Family loved it. Very hot - used jalapeño green salsa. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
We don't keep the spicy stuff around, so just used medium Pace salsa. Had extra sour cream and cilantro from a different recipe that had to be used up. So I found this. Used up what I had left of an onion. Only had Costco Panco chicken breasts. So I had to make lots of substitutions. But they turned out great! He loved them!! :)) Just goes to show a recipe like this can be used in a variety of ways. I was grateful for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was amazing! I had to use green enchilada sauce instead of the salsas because that's what I had on hand. I mixed a bit of taco seasoning in with the chicken. I think this recipe is very forgiving for such adjustments. It was so good, I was disappointed when I got full! The cilantro and sour cream in the sauce make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie Jean Buxton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I only gave this recipe four stars because it is SO spicy. The flavors are really good though. Nice and creamy. Next time I will use half of the onion and replace some if the jalapeño salsa with more sour cream to hopefully cut some of the heat. I recommend following other reviewers suggestions to put the tortillas in some oil in a pan to warm them and help them remain crispier. I also removed the foil with 5 minutes left in the cooking time and then turned on the broiler for the last minute or two to get a bit of browning on the cheese. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I made 3 pans of this. One pan without cheese. I had 25 enchiladas total. I fed 6 people, three teenagers and three adults. Everyone raved about it! Even my somewhat picky teens. After everyone was finished and I put 2 enchiladas away for my daughter's school lunch there were 2 enchiladas left! So much for thinking there would be leftovers. The only things I changed about this recipe was I used corn tortillas, I added a can of black beans to the chicken mixture and I pureed a few jalepenos in the sour cream mixture. It was a total hit. I will be making this one again (and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States