Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Great quick bundt cake. I added chocolate chips to the cake and they were a great addition. I added the chips after the mix was poured into the pan - this way I could keep the chips away from the sides of the pan! Since I added chips we didn't need any frosting and the cake was great and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I followed the directions to a tee and the cake took 1 hour and 10 min. baking time before the toothpick came out clean. The cake immediately fell when I removed it from the oven. The top portion of the cake was cooked and tasted very good, but I will not ever make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
The trick to making this recipe "fool proof" is by adding this WARNING to the ingredients. Must use "Classic" yellow cake mix. DO NOT use "butter" recipe/mix. The classice yellow cake mix calls for oil and not butter. The butter recipe does NOT turn out right once you add the sour cream. It will fall flat and be gooey inside everytime with the wrong/butter mix. Hope this helps ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I made this cake with a butter recipe cake mix and it was soooo delicious and extremely moist. I did have to cook it a tad longer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I used a carrot box cake and followed the directions on the box then added the sour cream and vanilla. I also added walnuts, carrots and coconut. I baked the cake at 350 for 1 hour because after reading the reviews I didn't want it to come out gooey. However, it still didn't work. The cake came out very gooey inside. I kind of felt like I was eating bread pudding. I don't think I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Make sure this cake is baked thoroughly. I kept it in the oven an additional 20 minutes and half was still doughie. The side that was baked was fabulous. I made it with yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This is a great standby cake recipe. I also make this with chocolate cake mix and chocolate pudding. Make sure to follow directions on the box and add the eggs and oil. When I make the chocolate cake, I add chocolate chips to give it some chocolate gooey-ness. When I make the yellow cake mix I layer the batter with cinnamon, sugar, and pecans to make a coffee cake. This recipe is easily adapted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brook
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I made this cake gluten free just by using "pamela's cake mix" and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
We loved this recipe thanks. The only thing I did different was to add a glaze. The best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Extra, extra moist! Needs frosting in my opinion but otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States