Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My family LOVED this cake! It was so very moist & delicious. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is my top secret recipe STILL almost a year later and it always comes out perfectly! I use this trick with chocolate, white and yellow cake mixes... My 14 year old daughter loves making it with me and I am sure it will turn into her top secret recipe... You do have to cook it a tad longer just keep an eye on it and check it frequently at the end. I do NOT use an entire cup of sour cream it is more like 3-4 TBLS people at my office request me to make this cake for office parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Fink Santella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great cake! I used a devil's food mix both times I've made it. The first time I forgot the oil and it still tasted fantastic (although it did fall apart a bit). The second time I substituted cooled coffee for the water. Yum! I melted 1/3 c. of canned vanilla frosting in the microwave and drizzled it on the cake. You shouldn't have a problem with the cake falling if you're careful not to overbeat it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
The first time I baked this recipe it was ate in two days. The children asked me to make it again. The second I made it it was eaten in one day. Very moist and delicious cake. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe is great. Adding the sour cream gives the box cake more flavor and a homemade taste. I suspect most people will have to add about 10 minutes to the baking directions on the box because of the addition of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This cake is great. It is sooooo moist and very easy to make. Who doesn't have a box of cake mix in their cubby! I used devils food cake mix with pudding and it was absolutely delicious. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STILLSWEET43

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is AWESOME! I did increase the baking time by a few minutes (not a big deal since ovens vary). I used a lemon cake mix and then added lemon juice and milk to powdered sugar for a glaze. It was so moist and everyone thought it was homemade! I also tried it with a spice cake mix and served it fresh whipped cream and orange cranberry sauce (try it this Thanksgiving!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Fantastic, easy recipe. I used a chocolate cake mix and substituted some kahlua for the water called for on the box, and it was great. Just dusted with powdered sugar instead of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made this with Devil's food cake mix. I substituted 1/2 the oil for real mayo, sprinkled slivered almonds in bottom of cake pan before baking, and topped it with a simple powdered sugar glaze. My husband said this is by far THE BEST CAKE he has ever tasted! It turned out moist, fluffy, and delish!!!! (I mixed it by hand and tried not to over-mix, so it wouldn't fall.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianCowgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mola, Puglia, Italy
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Cake mix. Made the cake according to the box directions, except I subsituted Sprite for the water, added 1 cup of sour cream, 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 box of instant vanilla pudding. Sift the cake mix and pudding, in a separate bowl mix all the wet ingredients, then mix the wet in with the dry. You can bake this cake in any type pan you desire. I bake most my cakes (this one included) at 325. This cake came out moist and delicious. We frosted one layer with chocolate frosting (my daughter insisted) and left the other plain. I prefer plain. The frosting was too much sweet for my taste, however my 4 year old daughter wouldn't have it any other way. Try it, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States