Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2000
The first time I baked this recipe it was ate in two days. The children asked me to make it again. The second I made it it was eaten in one day. Very moist and delicious cake. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2000
I thought this recipe was not only delicious and moist but so easy to make! I chose a chocolate cake mix and added a cup of chocolate chips. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
This is my top secret recipe STILL almost a year later and it always comes out perfectly! I use this trick with chocolate, white and yellow cake mixes... My 14 year old daughter loves making it with me and I am sure it will turn into her top secret recipe... You do have to cook it a tad longer just keep an eye on it and check it frequently at the end. I do NOT use an entire cup of sour cream it is more like 3-4 TBLS people at my office request me to make this cake for office parties...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Fink Santella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
My family LOVED this cake! It was so very moist & delicious. I will make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I must have done something wrong, I followed the recipe exactly & baked the cake for 50 minutes according to the box, then I tested it with a toothpick & it came out clean. Two minutes after I took the cake out of the oven it shrunk half its size. When I cut the cake was very spongy, as if it was not cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This recipe is great. Adding the sour cream gives the box cake more flavor and a homemade taste. I suspect most people will have to add about 10 minutes to the baking directions on the box because of the addition of the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a great cake! I used a devil's food mix both times I've made it. The first time I forgot the oil and it still tasted fantastic (although it did fall apart a bit). The second time I substituted cooled coffee for the water. Yum! I melted 1/3 c. of canned vanilla frosting in the microwave and drizzled it on the cake. You shouldn't have a problem with the cake falling if you're careful not to overbeat it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I followed directions to the letter and this cake fell flat as a pancake and was not cooked through. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made the recipe yeasterday for a party. It came out beautifully with a devil's food cake mix and about 15 extra minutes baking than the recipe called for. The texture was spongey and the cake VERY moist. I didn't confess to my friends it was a doctored cake mix- and they all assumed it was a scratch recipe. The cake did shirnk slightly as it cooled but nothing drastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This recipe is AWESOME! I did increase the baking time by a few minutes (not a big deal since ovens vary). I used a lemon cake mix and then added lemon juice and milk to powdered sugar for a glaze. It was so moist and everyone thought it was homemade! I also tried it with a spice cake mix and served it fresh whipped cream and orange cranberry sauce (try it this Thanksgiving!). Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States