Sour Cream Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a very plain cake which seemed rather dense. I am thinking it has to do with the size of cake mix that I had on hand (only 340gram). Since my cake mix was a little smaller I reduced the amount of sour cream to 3/4 cup. It was nice to try out my brand new bundt pan though! Perhaps next time I will add another flavour other than plain 'ol vanilla. I baked it an extra 15 mins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I tried this recipe with Betty Crocker, and Duncan Hines mix. The cake does come out moist. However If you like to fill the middle or make other molds, this recipe does not work. It makes the cake crumble and fall apart. I could not even ice the cake because as soon as I took the cake out of its pan, the cake fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Used this recipe and followed some advice from the previous reviews and it turned out just as great as everyone said it would! Highly recommend this eaten plain or frosted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Just like the others said...the middle was raw and I followed the directions???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Deliciously moist....I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This was a perfect, in a pinch quick cake. I was worried that it was going to go flat based on some previous reviews and I didn't leave myself alot of time before I had to leave for the party I was supposed to bring this to. But, no worries here. It came out great. Nice and moist. I used low fat sour cream, two eggs, oil & water. I made a glaze of lemon juice and powdered sugar. It was a hit. Fast and easy for when you are in a hurry. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I used Duncan Hines Butter Recipe Cake mix. Made the cake according to the box directions, except I subsituted Sprite for the water, added 1 cup of sour cream, 2 tsp vanilla, and 1 box of instant vanilla pudding. Sift the cake mix and pudding, in a separate bowl mix all the wet ingredients, then mix the wet in with the dry. You can bake this cake in any type pan you desire. I bake most my cakes (this one included) at 325. This cake came out moist and delicious. We frosted one layer with chocolate frosting (my daughter insisted) and left the other plain. I prefer plain. The frosting was too much sweet for my taste, however my 4 year old daughter wouldn't have it any other way. Try it, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATMAN72FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
The cake was moist but really no taste and the powdered sugar just did not do anything for the flavor of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This cake was wonderful. I did change a few things. Using a Duncan Hines Butter Fudge Cake Mix....I substituted some of the water with coffee(1/2 cup)then used 1/8 cup water and the 2 tsps vanilla. I gently folded in the sour cream just until blended. I put the batter in my NordicWare bundt pan and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. The result was perfectly formed cake, moist and good texture. My husband is a moist cake freak and he said it was dangerous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly, and even let it cook 20 minutes longer, and it still fell! I will try again and modify the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States